Two More Image Resources

Image taken from page 685 of 'A magyar nemzet tortenete. Szerkeszti Szilágyi S. [With maps and illustrations.]'
My brother has just alerted me to two more digitised image collections.  The first is provided by the British Library – see this article for an introduction.  The image above is from this collection.  I have no idea what it says, I just liked the illumination.  The second collection is part of the Polonsky Foundation Digitisation Project which aims to digitise the collections of the Oxford Bodleian Library and the Vatican’s Biblioteca Apostolica.  The latter seems to be related to the Digital Vatican Library which I already have in my resource list (see menu above).  See this article for information on the Polonsky collection.  I will add the appropriate links to the “Other Resources” page on my menu above.

Posted on August 12, 2017, in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That is a beautiful illumiation! The Latin is extremely easy to read, even for a non-medievalist scrub like me.

    The text is the first page of a commentary on Cicero’s rhetorical works by G. Marius Victorinus. Shameful for a library not to provide that information! He was a famous grammarian from the 4th century. St. Augustine talks about him in Confessions.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for that, Rob. :). I should have known you would know.
      St. Augustine’s Confessions is on my reading pile. It’s a very tall pile. 😦

      Like

  2. like you, Latin is not my forte but I do love the illumination 🙂
    By the way, those were also books amongst my cache…books all about Illuminated manuscripts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of my blogger friends has told me where the Latin is from now. It’s in one of the other comments if you’re interested.
      I love illuminated manuscripts too. I guess you drew on your interest in it for some of your art. There seems to me to be an element of that style in some of the artwork that you shared with me. We seem to have similar artistic interests since we’re both also interested in icons.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I read his comment and was amazed…I wish I did understand Latin…when I was still painting and “doing” my pieces…the illuminated manuscripts were indeed my inspiration—and I would incorporate Latin, Hebrew and Greek texts into my work—and I’d be a cross referencing fiend…and with the Hebrew bible I had gotten, I had to remember to work backwards in order to find what I was looking for…!!!
        Language is amazing to me…and sadly never my gift. In Italy we visited a museum, I think it was in Florence at the Monastery of San Marco where the Fra Angelico works are located….they had a book “museum” attached which was stunning as it contained a wealth of illuminated miniatures as well as regular size.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The illuminated manuscripts are a great source of inspiration, aren’t they? Do you think you will ever go back to being a ‘cross referencing fiend’? It sounds very rewarding. I would love to see some old books and manuscripts in the flesh, as it were. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything much older than a century. Another blogger friend recently wrote about seeing the Magna Carta and the Domesday book. https://simonjohnsonofclowne.com/2017/08/04/the-best-day-out-in-england/ You’re all making me jealous!

        Like

  3. I was very good at Latin at school but not so much these days though it has stood me in good stead when it comes to language and guessing meanings if I don’t know a particular word! Beautiful image. When I was a teen working in a little gift shop in Richmond, Surrey, I would buy all my Christmas cards there and always ones of illuminated manuscripts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

