More on Mental Prayer

For reference, here is a link to my first post about mental prayer.  There is a lot of good information there for people who are interested in Christian meditation.  I am growing more convinced that, while Buddhist meditation is helpful for non-believers, it is dangerous for believers to rely too heavily on these methods.  Sure, many of the things I learned as a Buddhist are helpful on my new path but I have tried to leave behind anything that conflicts with a God-centred approach.  We cannot become truly enlightened if we ignore our Creator.  The Church has all the tools Christians need if we can just find them and use them diligently.

I am posting this for my own records, and to provide some supplementary information for those who want to see more.  The first video serves as an introduction to the second.  You can probably watch the second without watching the first one but I wouldn’t recommend it.  The videos only seem to have one audio channel working so I’ve found it best to watch them on a tablet without headphones.

Here is a link to the resource mentioned in the second video.  It appears that the transcriptions there are not quite all finished yet.  However, the scanned image of the source book is there as well, so you can see the original version of the missing texts.

Posted on July 8, 2017, in Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Mental prayer is one of the hardest things I do. Now I can meditate on things around me such as trees, my animals, even a grass blade, but if I have to sit for any length of time say in Adoration, at times my mind is all over the place. Do you ever have distractions in mental prayer? God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely to hear from you, SR. Yes, I usually have some level of distraction during mental prayer. I was a Buddhist for a good few years, and I did a lot of Buddhist meditation including silent retreats for up to 8 days. In some ways it was good preparation for mental prayer because it taught me how to handle distractions (what Buddhists sometimes refer to as “monkey mind” which jumps about all over the place). The key in mental prayer is that distraction is only a problem when we consciously assent to it. If we return to prayer as soon as we notice that we’re distracted then all is well. 🙂 This is covered in the video in my first post on mental prayer if you’re interested (see the link in this post above to get there).
      God bless you also, Sarah. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

