Geoff the Giraffe and Gardening

I’ve been letting the blog take a back seat for the last few months because I was hoping to put more energy into my artwork.  As always, life (and Microsoft) got in the way, and I wasn’t able do that.  My graphics machine is the last refuge for Windows in this house but not for much longer because a Windows update made it about as useful for drawing as a brick.  Anyway, the loss of my drawing tool freed me up to tackle a crochet project that I’d wanted to do for ages.  Anyone who has followed this blog from the beginning will probably know that I tend to binge on my hobbies.  I can go for months or years without doing any crochet, origami or whatever, but when I get started I just can’t stop.  This time I’m addicted to woolly creatures designed by Heidi Bears.  I’m on my third one.  I can only show you the second one because the others are destined to be gifts for people who might see this post.  Meet Geoff the Giraffe:

I’ve also spent quite a bit of time in the garden:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on May 20, 2017, in Crochet, Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. the yard is looking grand and Geoffrey, is well marvelous!
    I love him—
    my mother crochet and I found a blanket hidden up in a closet that I think my son was ready to toss when I told him his grandmother whom he had never known had actually made that…”don’t you want to take he pleadingly asked”
    “No, I think you should keep it”
    in part because you see that bright color of orange on Geoff’s spots?
    Well the blanket is a mix of oranges—very 1970’s orange and I for one am not a fan—so I think it needs to stay in her house with her grandson—makes perfect sense 🙂

    Like

    • So funny! 😀 And it’s funny that you should mention the Seventies because that’s probably when I got the wool I used for Geoff. 🙂 Both my grandmothers gave me yarn. One was a crocheter and machine knitter, the other a hand knitter; both prolific. When my mum’s mum would knit me things she would give me a bit of the matching yarn for repairs and I squirrelled it away. These Heidi Bears designs have been great for using up small quantities of yarn that I probably would never otherwise have used.
      The Seventies colours were really lurid weren’t they? I have photos of me in yellow flares and a budgie green and yellow jumper that my nanna knitted. My dad would call me his little budgie when I wore it. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Cute giraffe and the garden’s looking as if it’s well on its way to stardom! I love bark. Grammarly seems to think I want to say ‘I love to bark’. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love Geoff and the garden is looking good. This is the first safe weekend to put plants into the ground here in Toronto but it’s so cold and windy tha I don’t feel like puttering in the garden. I’ll probably purchase some of the things that I need so that when I feel inspired I’ll be ready.

    Like

    • Aw, thanks. 🙂 We tend to get our summer in spring if you know what I mean. It’s back to being grey and horrid now. It hailed last night. We usually get another stretch of good weather round about September. I shouldn’t really plant anything fragile until June (‘ne’er cast a clout till May is out’) but I know our summers usually aren’t great for digging.
      I hope you get some gardening weather soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. your creative craft
    talents make me smile, Sarah 🙂

    Like

  5. Sarah I don’t stop here often, so this is the first time I’ve seen photos of your yard and garden. How lovely! I do like being able to imagine people where they are when they blog. I know what you mean about being pleased to see the progress of a garden you are trying to build. I am in my second Spring here at this place, and it feels so good to see things growing that I planted before.

    That giraffe is perfect!! Imagining the colours in clothing is scary, but on Geoff they are perfect. ha ha.

    Sorry to hear your hedge was busted, and that Windows made unhelpful command decisions. I like how you just moved on to the next projects though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Crystal. 🙂 I don’t stop by your blog often either but it’s nice to catch up every now and then. I know what you mean about seeing other bloggers’ places. I love to see photos of your place, the wildlife, chucks, and the improvements you’re making.
      Yeah, a sweater in Geoff’s colours would be pretty horrid but he seems to carry it off somehow. 🙂
      We’ve had a minibus crash through our garden, and then (after we’d rebuilt and replanted) a young guy flipped his car through doing even more damage. Thankfully both drivers got no more than a few bruises and no one else was involved. I won’t buy a house so close to a fast road again.
      I’m working on getting the drawing tablet working again. I should know this week whether it’s doable or not.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good heavens, what crashes! I’m so glad to hurt the injuries were minor (except maybe to their pride, ha ha). Do you get any compensation for replacing the hedge? Still, frustrating to have to start over to build your barrier to the sound and dust of the road. Good luck on the drawing tablet! But it’s ok if the crocheting continues, because that is fun for us to watch too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Crystal. 🙂
        Compensation: the boss of the first driver rebuilt the wall for us and offered to pay for the paint and hedge but the cheque bounced. We got the second guy to pay for the damage through his car insurance.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. You were so right – I looove him! Absolutely gorgeous, what a talent you have! How long did he take to make? I wish I could crochet but I’ve never got the hang of it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😀 Oh I thought you’d crochet. I loved your woolly bus project. That was you wasn’t it? Have you changed your blog address? I’m confused because WordPress says I’m not following your blog, but I’ve followed you for ages. Sorry, if I’ve got the wrong person.

      Liked by 1 person

    • There must be two of you. Sorry for being an idiot. Is Miranda the bus knitter or you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, there’s two of us. We can both knit – I’m the bus knitter – but Miranda can crochet squares as well, although she says she doesn’t have any control how they come out 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry for getting you two confused. Do you both work on the stories? I wish I still had young kids. Mine would have loved your stories when they were smaller.
        Even though non-yarny people think crochet and knitting are pretty much the same, they really are quite different skills, aren’t they? I like crochet because it seems to be quicker. I made Geoff in less than a week of sporadic sessions. I used to do more knitting but I got RSI from doing a cable sweater for hubby in 2000 and haven’t wanted to tackle anything major since then.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much, I do most of the stories but Miranda has done a few and she’s got a couple more in the pipeline. She’s also illustrated a couple of my stories. I really must have another go at crochet if you say it grows faster than knitting – I’ve had rsi from knitting too because when you’re in the mood you can’t help over-doing it can you? Plus I love the beautiful things you can do with crochet – Geoff is a case in point – that’s amazing that you made him in less than a week. Bravo! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it’s too easy to keep knitting and knitting. I do the same with crochet but I’ve got away without any RSI so far. I’d definitely recommend crochet if you like quick results. Very satisfying. There are loads of tutorials on the Internet these days. One thing to be careful of is that the Americans use different notation, e.g. they call a double crochet a single crochet and so on. Lots of the Internet stuff is American. I’m pecking my reply out on a tablet but when I get back on my laptop I can find a link to a conversion table if you’re interested, and I think I can direct you to a YouTube channel done by an British crocheter.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That would be great, thank you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi, I’m back at my laptop. 🙂 If you scroll down this page you will see a conversion chart. It might also be a good source of patterns: http://www.simplycrochetmag.co.uk/2013/07/04/uk-and-us-crochet-conversion-chart/
        I don’t know how good Bella Coco is for beginners but I found her videos good:

        This link should take you to a playlist of 11 starter tutorials.
        Please let me know how you get on. Happy hooking. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much Sarah, that’s great. It’s going to be a while before I have the time to try it but I’ll save these links so that I can come back to them when I get a chance. Thanks again 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I have never been able to use computer drawing tool. Can’t draw lines with a mouse like draw with pen and the screen too small . I hand draw everything and place rough draft on face of light box. Then I put clean sheet over that and the light allows me to trace over the original with corrected line and fix up items in the picture. Put refined sketch on desktop. Then I go to gimp to clean up a little more and color. I can’t imagine drawing and refining any other way. Pen gives variations in darkness of line as you tilt pen this way or that. and pen not uniform thickness of lines and I would care to refine that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your process, Carl. 🙂 I couldn’t draw with a mouse either but I’m lucky enough to have a special graphics tablet with a touch screen and a stylus. And it’s pressure sensitive too so you can vary line width like with a real pen. That’s why I’m so annoyed that it’s broken. It’s nearly fixed now though. I’ll do a post about it when it’s done.

      Like

  8. Oh, the stylus thing – gotta kook into it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

