Adoro Te Devote

I’m going to be taking a break from blogging for about three months. I hope this will allow me to put more time into my art and preparations for Easter. I hope you all have a wonderful spring, and I look forward to catching up with you all in the summer.

I leave you with a Latin prayer that might give a little insight into why the Church offers exposition of the Blessed Sacrament. I have copied a translation from Wikipedia below.  If you have a more poetic leaning you might prefer the version by Gerard Manley Hopkins.

I devoutly adore you, O hidden Deity,
Truly hidden beneath these appearances.
My whole heart submits to you,
And in contemplating you, It surrenders itself completely.

Sight, touch, taste are all deceived in their judgement of you,
But hearing suffices firmly to believe.
I believe all that the Son of God has spoken;
There is nothing truer than this word of truth.

On the cross only the divinity was hidden,
But here the humanity is also hidden.
Yet believing and confessing both,
I ask for what the repentant thief asked.

I do not see the wounds as Thomas did,
But I confess that you are my God.
Make me believe more and more in you,
Hope in you, and love you.

O memorial of our Lord’s death!
Living bread that gives life to man,
Grant my soul to live on you,
And always to savour your sweetness.

Lord Jesus, Good Pelican,
wash my filthiness and clean me with your blood,
One drop of which can free
the entire world of all its sins.

Jesus, whom now I see hidden,
I ask you to fulfil what I so desire:
That the sight of your face being unveiled
I may have the happiness of seeing your glory. Amen.

[Translation via Wikipedia.]hostonly

Posted on February 11, 2017, in Christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. O love the chants. About ten days ago went to one at Sydney Festival from Croatia the singers are called Dalmatica chants from the Adriatic – absolutely soul nourishing. These hers you offer Sarah are wonderful. Thank you

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Enjoy your hiatus. Hope it is both fulfilling and productive. Looking forward to seeing your new artwork. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  3. don’t be too much of a stranger Sarah as I love seeing your updates on your latest wonders…plus I will miss my “Irish” albeit with a UK flair, friend 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. wishing you a joyful
    time, Sarah 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Well, I’m so glad that today is the day I stopped by, so I could catch your “goodbye.” Maybe your hiatus will give me a chance to catch up on what you’ve been doing. I hope your Easter preparations and joyful and inspiring. Love. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I’ll look forward to seeing you in the Summertime…meanwhile have a lovely Easter and enjoy all you get up to 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Hope you’re enjoying a productive break, Sarah ❤ 🙂 💜 Jackie@KWH

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

