Unexpected Discoveries at Knock Museum

I have lived within twenty minutes drive of Knock Museum for more than fifteen years.  I finally went in a few days ago for a class, but I still didn’t get a proper look at the exhibits.  I did make some interesting discoveries though, and I learnt how to make a St. Brigid’s cross.  My first discovery was made in the museum shop.  I saw some products there that looked very much like the kind of thing that I aspire to make, based on the Book of Kells.  The artist has a website where you can view and purchase his work if you want.

The second discovery was through meeting a Spanish lady in the class.  I couldn’t catch her name – Pilar – until she spelled it out for me.  I’m sure she was fed up of explaining its origins but I had to ask.  She told me that it is quite a common name in Spain, where babies are named in honour of Our Lady of the Pillar (Pilar in Spanish).  Below is a photo of a Marian statue on what is reputed to be the pillar in question.  It is obscured in the picture by a blue and white origami mantle (please don’t ask why; I haven’t the foggiest).  The apparition is claimed to be the first Marian apparition and happened when Mary was still alive.  Our Lady is said to have appeared to Saint James when she wished to gather the apostles together for one last time before her assumption into Heaven.
Virgen del Pilar

I thought it might be fun to do a post listing and describing all the Marian apparitions but looking at how many there are on the maps by National Geographic, I changed my mind.  There are nine major Church-approved apparitions, and the one at Knock is among them.  I would have only been able to list five of them before I started my research; how about you?  Have there been any in your area or country?  Knock is the national Marian shrine of Ireland.  You can see it marked quite clearly on the National Geographic map of apparitions in Europe.  So now you know where I live, roughly. 🙂  One day I may find the time to have a proper look around the Museum.

Posted on February 4, 2017, in Art, Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. One of the most touching things that I witnessed at the Shrine of Our Lady of Pilar in Zaragoza was an Acolyte holding up newly baptized babies to “kiss” the statue of Our Lady of Pilar. I was told that only the baptized babies were allowed this privilege because their little souls were the purest!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are many apparitions but only few are recognized by the Church. I skipped this when I went to Ireland and instead was directed by the spirit to visit a quiet church that house Our Lady of Perpetual Help I can’t remember the place. There is one in the Philippines. This year marks the 100 years of Our Lady of Fatima. This story is so compelling that I’ve gone twice to visit. Blessings to you Sarah. Perpetua

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m adding this to my to do list upon my return!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You just never know what new knowledge will fall your way Always nice to meet new people and enlighten your day. Hope you enjoy looking around the museum soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hello Sarah, glad to see you again on here. Have you read Padre Pio ?- he had quite a bit to say about the Marian visions.. He, himself was quite an advanced soul. eve xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Eve, nice to see you again. I admire Padre Pio very much. I’ve read about him and watched films about him but I don’t think I’ve read any of his writings. Thanks for letting me know. I will try to find some now. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

