Happy St. Brigid’s Day

firststbcross

This is my first St. Brigid’s Day as a Christian and I’m in Ireland so I couldn’t let the day pass without making a St. Brigid’s cross.  People usually make these out of freshly cut field reeds but I, always having to be different :p, made my first cross at a class today out of something else.  I was so excited at the prospect, and the class was so chaotic, that I didn’t really catch what kind of reeds these were.  What I do know is that the demonstrator cut them herself at the end of last summer and she had to wear chest-high waders to get them.  Good woman!  She might have said ‘bulrushes’ but don’t quote me on that.  She told us that they can last for hundreds of years.  People used to use them to make household items, and she still uses them to make things that she sells for a living.

Posted on February 1, 2017, in Christianity, Craft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Beautiful. How does this pattern relate to St. Bridget?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Colleen. I wish I had one of the normal green ones to show everyone. Maybe next year.
      The tradition goes that St. Bridget made crosses out of reeds to teach the Irish people about the cross. It’s a bit like the story about St. Patrick teaching people about the trinity using a shamrock leaf. St. Bridget is one of the patron saints of Ireland along with St. Patrick and St. Columba. Here’s the Wiki page that shows one of the green crosses: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brigid's_cross. It also shows me that I spelt the saint’s name wrong – I thought it was okay to use an English spelling but it seems not. Ooops. I’ll have to do some editing.

      Like

  2. I have a St Brigid cross which I had gotten when in Ireland hanging by our back door—I also have another one hanging over the backdoor within the house—one is the traditional 4 armed cross…the other one is three armed.
    My Irish friend, who was our guide during our trip, told me not to buy one. He is a devout Christian and viewed the Brigid Crosses as pagan but I had to disagree —because in so much of Christianity…there are connections to that of our pagan histories which even St Patrick saw the relevance in bridging the two worlds…as he demonstrated so beautifully with the circle of the celtic cross….
    Happy St Brigid to you my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s beautiful and I rather like the powdery of it. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing this message about St. Bridig’s cross. It something new to me.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Unexpected Discoveries at Knock Museum | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

