Approved Version

This version of my Holy Face design has been approved by the person who requested it.ย  I’m happy with it overall but I think that the face itself and the lettering might need tweaking.

holyface2

Posted on January 16, 2017, in Celtic interlace, Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Sarah…It is absolutely wonderful!! I’m not surprised the person is happy ๐Ÿ™‚ Your colours work so well too. A lovely commission piece ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Caren. I’m glad you like it.
      I think I need to live with it for a bit before I’ll be completely happy with it. I always get to the point where I can’t see the thing I’m working on objectively any more. I need to leave it for a while and go back to it with fresh eyes. Do you know what I mean?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think you have done a wonderful piece of stand alone art Sarah ๐Ÿ™‚ As an artist, I know exactly what you mean…leaving it alone for a while before revisiting again can open fresh eyes! Though, I can already see why your client is very happy too ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Seeing any clear difference from your original, it would be, and please don’t take this as any criticism!!, the factor of adding in colour and shading has perhaps ‘thinned the face’ from the original, this is in no way a detriment, just my singular observations, and, at the end of the day what witness do we have as to the actual face?! Simply, your artwork and Celtic knot work are wonderful!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Thanks so much, Caren. ๐Ÿ˜€
        The thinning of the face was deliberate. My client didn’t like the fresh-faced boyishness of the original version. And, we do actually have a few witnesses of the actual face – the various cloths that gained an imprint of Our Lord’s features during and after His Passion, and the description of an image painted during the life of the apostles (I don’t think the original has been found/identified in modern times). The Shroud of Turin is one, and the Veil of Veronica is another. The images of Christ drawn in the early years of Christianity (e.g. graffiti in the catacombs) are all quite different but once the aforementioned images and their descriptions, the Veronica in particular, started circulating the images started to become remarkably consistent. That’s why, if you see a traditional Christian image it is usually easy to identify which one is Christ. And, I know what you and other readers are probably thinking :): the Shroud of Turin is a fake. The evidence for the Shroud being genuine is actually very strong. There was just one piece of dating evidence that came out against it and this was later debunked – the sample was taken from the edge of the Shroud where various repairs had been made, and the test was only done in one facility rather than the various facilities that were originally agreed to. However, it was the dating result that got all the publicity so the world sighed with relief and forgot all about the unsettling Shroud. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I do seem to remember watching a program about that some years ago! I’m so happy for you Sarah that your client likes the new thinned down version ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe many more commissions on the horizon soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope so. Thanks, Caren. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It just keeps getting better! Beautiful work, Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see it as a gorgeous stained glass window in a beautiful chapel window as the sun light dapples through—cutting through the colors and casting a warm radiance for all to see….Beautiful Sarah!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful. I guess art is like writing. Look upon it with fresh eyes and see it in a whole new way. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Colleen. ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes, writing and drawing are similar in that way, I guess. Some of us get so wrapped up in the details that we get to the point where we can’t see the wood for the trees. Time to step back.

      Liked by 1 person

      • When I step back in I often try to look at a piece as if it were someone else’s. I’ve done this with my photography where at first I notice the lack of focus or its off center… I’ve looked back at my blog and been “wow what a great shot.” We outsiders to your creative process get to see the greatness right out of the gate. Have a great day.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks Colleen. Ditto goes for your photos; it’s a great treat for me to see the results of your creative process. Maybe one day I’ll also get to read one of your books… ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope one day I get to read one of my books too. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow Sarah, such talent! So happy you are able to make some income from something you are not only wonderful at, but obviously enjoy so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. an inspiring
    work of art
    by a true
    artist ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

