Facing Reality

Well, I thought I was going to be able to finish this project before Christmas but that doesn’t look very likely now. Somebody asked me to do a standalone (as opposed to tile-able), digital version of my Holy Face design.  Here, below, is the work-in-progress.  I’ve adapted the border from my Tree of Life design.  The spiral background will be modified so that it fits the new border and joins with it at top and bottom.  (You’ll see what I mean when I’m finished.)  I’m experimenting with the colours.  Believe it or not, the colour scheme below is based on the colour scheme on a halo in the Book of Kells.  It looks very carnival to me.  I had a lot of trouble adding colour and shading to the face without straying off a very fine line between bad manga and bad realism.  It might still need some tweaking.  I’ve taken the opportunity to make the central trinity spiral a bit more circular.  My pencilled spiral was quite triangular.

holyfacecrop

Posted on December 16, 2016, in Art, Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. It’s lovely Sarah and a great deal of work going into the details! I think the person who asked you will be thrilled when you have finished it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A good start. Would love to see the finish product, Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wonderful. The colors are vibrant yet soothing. Did you say Christmas of what Year?

    Like

  4. Its looking great Sarah. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. work of a passionate
    skilled artist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Looking good, Sarah 🙂 It’d be nice to have it completed in time for Christmas, but these deeply detailed art things do take time. What are the finished dimensions? 🙂 💜 Jackie@KWH

    Like

Leave a Reply

