Je suis revenu – part 2

The next set of snaps were taken at Jumièges Abbey. I didn’t get a good shot of the ruins so the first photo is from Wikimedia Commons. You will be able to tell which ones I took because of the Irish sky. 🙂

Abbaye de Jumièges

Click on the photos if you want to enlarge them.

Posted on October 11, 2016, in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow!! steeped in history!! dating back to the 7th century..amazing that it looks so well preserved…AND, having an Irish Monk who founded the monastery 😉 I bet those stones could tell a story or two, if they could talk 😉

    Like

    • I bet we wouldn’t want to hear all the stories the stones could tell. Sadly, the original abbey was destroyed by Vikings, so the earliest of the ruins date back to the ninth century. Lots of religious buildings and communities were founded throughout Europe by the Irish. They were energetic missionaries and evangelists in those days. This particular abbey, however, was actually founded by a Frankish nobleman, Saint Philibert.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry< I must have miss read the info in all my excitement. Though you are quite right about the Irish getting around in those days 😉 All in all I reckon there have been a fair few who have appreciated that lovely Abbey over the years 🙂

        Like

      • Never mind the mistake, Caren. I appreciate your enthusiasm. Not everybody is a fan of old buildings and ruins. I heard at least two people expressing their boredom on my way round these magnificent constructions. I can’t imagine being bored by them. Ah well, different strokes for different folks, and all that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I suppose it wouldn’t do for us all to be the same, though I really enjoy old buildings and ruins 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

