Gradual Illumination

Here’s the latest update to my Tree of Life design:

tree-of-life-cropped1

I’ve tidied up the sketch a little, and continued with the illumination on the “G”.  I’ve left the bottom spiral in an intermediate state so that you can see how the design evolves.  It doesn’t just pop out of my head and onto the screen.  I have to keep changing it and tweaking it.  I’m still using George Bain’s book for inspiration but now I’m also using Aidan Meehan’s book on illuminated letters.

If you’re wondering why these letters seem to be tipping up to the right, it’s not a mistake.  The old manuscripts that I’m trying to emulate, like the Book of Kells, often have the first few letters of a passage illuminated in decreasing order of size.  However, the rest of the letters in my sketch in the previous post are tipping up to the right, by mistake.  It often happens to my writing if I don’t follow guidelines.  I will have to remember to draw guidelines on the sketch before I finalise the rest of the writing.

Posted on September 21, 2016, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I love to know the process that an artist goes through to create their piece. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Such intricate work to get the Celtic knots and designs right, I know. It’s going to be a fantastic piece :-)…can’t wait to see it when you’ve completed it all! Such trials and adjustments along the way, just make the final piece even more special

    Like

  3. Oh your work is looking so good! Here I am, stopping in finally, a voice from the distant past…. ha ha ha, and I see such delicious work going on in your life. It’s exciting. I know it’s early, but my brain is extrapolating and I see from what you’ve done already how amazing it will be when complete. It may be awhile though, so I hope you have something tasty to snack on while you’re at it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Crystal, it’s lovely to see you again. Sorry I haven’t been over to your blog in a while. I was having one of those ‘should I stop blogging?’ phases and I haven’t used my WordPress Reader for months. I will pop over as soon as I’ve finished writing this. 🙂
      Yes, this piece is definitely going to take a while. Being British I tend to work best with a cup of tea, well, a mug actually. 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks for all this, my Dear Sarah! We can see How Painstaking and Patient a work Art is! Kudos! Keep it up and Delighting Us. Hearty Regards. 🙂

    Like

  5. Lovely lettering so far, Sarah 🙂
    Such attention to detail is an exercise in patience! 💜 Jackie@KWH

    Like

Leave a Reply

