Misunderstandings

I wasn’t going to do any more purely Catholic posts but I just read something that made me feel like sharing the following quote.

“There are not over a hundred people in the United States who hate the Catholic Church. There are millions, however, who hate what they wrongly believe to be the Catholic Church….As a matter of fact, if we Catholics believed all of the untruths and lies which were said against the Church, we probably would hate the Church a thousand times more than they do.”

Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen – in preface to Radio Replies

Bishop Fulton J. Sheen 1956

I used to hate the Catholic Church.  Well, maybe dislike would be a better word because I didn’t really pay the matter enough attention to get really worked up about it.  I believed all the anti-Catholic propaganda that I had absorbed through everyday life.  I didn’t care enough to question whether it was true.  Many, many people live like that.  I’m so grateful that I got the opportunity to begin to care enough to discover my mistake.  I pray that all of you that think badly of the Church get the same sort of opportunity.

Posted on September 5, 2016, in Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I find it is generally best if I experience things myself before forming an opinion rather than absorbing the views of the news or other people. I’m glad when you explored things for yourself you found them to be a positive experience. Hopefully your post will help others — to think before they condemn any organization or person without first experiencing it for themselves.

    Like

    • Yes, now that I’m a more mature adult I’ve learned to be more cautious about forming opinions. However, it can be hard to extract the prejudices and habits that one picks up during one’s childhood and young adulthood. One first has to realise that they are there.
      Thanks for your input Colleen. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How odd. We have millions of good devout Catholics in this country. I have to take this quote in context of the times and that it is a “radio response”. I must say in all honesty, that I believe this must be taken in context. I know many people who hate and fear Muslims, people who hate Pentecostal Holiness, people who hate and fear homosexuals, people who hate and fear Republicans/Democrats, people who hate and fear Jews. I also know people who hate and fear Catholics, Baptists, Pagans. I am not aware of a tremendous backlash against Catholics in the US. I feel all over the world people hate and fear anything they do not understand. I am glad you have found your faith again Sarah. My cousin recently converted to Catholocism himself and he has not had anyonehe jnows who wish him nothing but the best. Maybe it is different in Ireland where there are still two warring factions. I do not know. But I would caution you against using a several decades old quote from Bishop Sheen. He was a good godly man but I fear his quote is a tad outdated regarding Catholics. Perhaps we should view this in light of all the hate and fear that invades every part of our lives, everyday.

    Like

    • Thanks for the caution. I nearly deleted the post in response. However, I will let it stand. Your comment will serve as a balance. Thank you.
      I’m glad you and your cousin have had such positive experiences of the matter. I’ve had a few less positive experiences and I’ve only been in the Church a few months. And it’s not because of the well-known religious tension here in Ireland. That is something that only tends to be felt further north, and not so much now as in the past.

      Like

  3. Hate is the absence of love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

