New Flavour

You may have noticed that my blog has been a little quiet this year.  In fact I’ve been thinking about shutting it down and starting up a new one.  I’ve finally decided to keep this one running though, but with a slightly new emphasis.  The reason is that I was received into the Catholic Church in February, and my whole interior landscape has been undergoing seismic upheaval.  I wasn’t sure I still wanted an “Art and Craft” blog.  However, I’ve abandoned plans to start a purely Catholic blog because so many people do it better than I could.  I will provide links to some wonderful Catholic resources as time goes on, but I won’t be trying to duplicate them.  For starters, if you are interested in finding out more about traditional Catholicism, I don’t think you’ll find a better resource than FishEaters.

Here are some photos of the beautiful baptistery where I was received into the Church.

I will probably post a couple of more wordy posts about my conversion from Buddhism to Catholicism.  Then, once the transition period is over, it will be back to business as usual: I’ll be mostly using the blog to share pictures of things I’ve made or designed, but with a new (hopefully not too fishy) flavour that derives from my new-found faith.

Posted on August 10, 2016, in Buddhism, Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Though nominally Protestant and with a lot of vicars and deacons and archbishops among my forbears, I am not religious. However, I’m fascinated that you’ve gone from Buddhism to Catholicism and look forward to hearing more about the process. Have a beautiful Day, Sarah. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sarah. 🙂 It has been an interesting experience for sure. I hope I can write about it in a way that conveys the beauty that I’ve discovered along the way. I’m more comfortable communicating with pictures, but I’m looking forward to exploring my conversion in words.
      I hope you have a wonderful day too – don’t work too hard. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always loved stained glass — it has the beauty of a painting on canvas but takes on an otherworldly quality when the light shines through. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. So pleased you have decided to continue blogging Sarah! What wonderful photos and such a beautiful place 🙂 I’m not at all religious,but, my husband’s family are catholic and I know they get a lot of pleasure from being part of the church. The artistry in the stained glass is amazing and I look forward to seeing more of your posts in the future :-)!!
    I’ve been MIA too for the most part of this year…really must decide where I’m heading in blog land as well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Caren. 🙂 Yes, we are lucky to have such a beautiful church as our parish church, and I particularly love the windows. I will be posting photos of more of the windows in posts to come. I hope you continue to blog (but, no pressure 🙂 ). Your wonderful creativity is always an inspiration to me, and probably many others.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonders of wonders. Blessing to your new faith and in your initiation in the Catholic Church. Must, you must right and share your experience Sarah. Would love to hear about it. Oh how exciting. Now, I’ll go fish and check the link. Perpetua

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Perpetua. 😀 I hope you land a few whoppers (to continue the fishy analogy). The next instalment is coming soon. May God bless you and yours. ❤

      Like

  1. Pingback: Back to the Art | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

  2. Pingback: Antique Art | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

