This is the kind of weather we’re having in Ireland lately

The video I posted here originally has been deleted so if you’re still interested you can find it by clicking here.

Posted on December 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I hope things straighten out soon. I also hope you are safe. That is a lot of rain and I can’t believe people were swimming in the ocean. Insane. Hope it is over quickly. ❀

    Like

    • Thanks Gigi. I just didn’t want people to be too jealous of my December flowers. πŸ˜‰ I don’t think any region can claim to have a perfect climate.
      There are folks in Galway (and Dublin by the sounds of it) who like to go for a swim every day, whatever the weather. They’re a hardy bunch, but, as the reporter pointed out, maybe sometimes it’s a little foolhardy. My friend Sally used to swim there at Salthill until she had her own pond to swim in at the mill.

      Like

  2. I love windy days but not quite that windy. Hope you are warm and dry in your cottage and your gardens don’t have more to contend with after the car driving though them.

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen. Yes, the winds have been a bit too strong for my taste this year. I worry about my roof slates. Fortunately, we’ve had no damage since the car incident. I hope the snow is not too heavy yet in Fulton. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Snow? What snow? Buffalo one of the major cities in NY tracked for weather and known for record snow fall — just broke a 116 yr record for longest days into the year without a measurable snow event (less than 1/10th of an inch). I’m loving this no shoveling winter. πŸ˜€

        Like

      • Wow! That’s great news. How will you get your exercise now? πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • Sadly by cleaning my house. I just watched a clip on CNN about your video clip. Apparently, the weather clip has gone viral with many parodies of the weather report.

        Like

      • Cleaning, oh dear. 😦
        I’m not sure I could watch a parody of the video. I had too much sympathy for her to want to see someone make fun of her. Have you seen any?

        Like

      • Yes. They interviewed the reporter and she is laughing about it. They even played her favorite ones. She has a great sense of humor.

        Like

      • I’m glad she’s taking it well. I had a look on YouTube and found a remix that I quite liked. They made her sound very musical. Here is my favourite remix video so far: https://youtu.be/GkkEO7hzALY It’s based on a cookery programme that I used to watch. Maybe it won’t be so funny if your don’t know the guys in it… Let me know. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Funny. I saw the one with the weather newscaster based on that — now I understand where it came from.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. As Deirdre the YouTube commenter says: “Theresa looking like she was doing the cyclone challenge on I’m a Celebrity” XD

    Like

    • I don’t watch “I’m a Celebrity” but I get the idea. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Me neither Sarah; I don’t even possess a TV – I suppose that’s a kind of inverted snobbery these days!

        Like

      • Not at all. I think it’s very sensible. Do you watch DVDs, and films on the Internet, or is it a blanket ban on that kind of thing?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have no bans on anything in that respect Sarah, though if I watch television elsewhere, it always seems so insipid and life-draining. I am terribly out of touch with cinema, even though I used to be a weekly visitor to the arthouse cinemas in Oxford and Exeter many moons ago. I would subscribe to Netflix, were it not for the very slow broadband speed I suffer here on the Somerset Levels. How about you?

        Like

      • We mostly watch DVDs. We don’t buy them when they first come out. We wait for them to become more affordable. This means we are usually out of step with everyone else. Downton Abbey, for example, has almost finished for good on TV but we still have 2 series of it left to buy and watch.
        We also would probably subscribe to Netflix if we had better broadband. We sometimes download things off the Internet. We’re working our way through some Russian dramas at the moment. They’re quite entertaining. I’ve also just found a Czech Cinderella film (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070832/) that I watched on BBC when I was young. I was captivated by it and I’m very much looking forward to seeing whether it is still watchable as an adult.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Did you see the rap version of this? Silly but fun! I would attach it but that would require digging through facebook and I like to avoid that. Hope you are safe and dry and have a magical Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t see any of the spin-off versions until you and Colleen mentioned them. I found a remix version that I thought was quite good.
      We’re all safe here, not sure about dry though. πŸ˜‰ I hope you have a wonderful Christmas too. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Shudder. Shudder. Brrrrr…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hope it gets better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

