On My Soapbox

With countries taking polarized stances and tension escalating around the world I don’t think that any news outlet can be trusted to provide the whole truth and nothing but the truth.  Now you might think that this is self-evident but have you done anything about it?  I would suggest reading news from more than one country to get some sort of balance.  It’s not particularly easy, given the language barriers, but there are quite a few news outlets that have output that is not in their native language. I’m thinking in particular of the Russian RT News outlet which I have found to be a great balance against Western media.  They often give prominent attention to events that the Western media have tried to downplay or ignore.  They also, obviously, have quite a different perspective on events in Syria, and so on.

If we don’t allow our media to stir us up into hatred then we are closer to finding solutions to world peace.  What do you think?  Do you have any links to non-western news outlets that you can share in the Comments section?

chainsmall

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. We watch RT, France 24, Al Jazeera and others. What’s covered and the views expressed on the BBC or Sky make me so angry – particularly so when they were utterly failing to report on the protests against the horrors being perpetrated on the Welfare State and the NHS. Getting a perspective, as you say, from as many sides of the equation as possible is the only way to get properly informed and work out solutions. I’ve just read that while it’s being said by the usual suspects that the Daesh-controlled oil field has been obliterated by the RAF, it was, in fact, already destroyed by the Russian strikes. Oy vey, what an horrific world we (or those in control) have created.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Sarah. Yes, it’s hard to watch BBC News when you know what other countries are saying. So many protests don’t get reported, or they get reported briefly at times when few people are watching. I don’t get Sky so I can’t comment on that. The world of politics, spin and war is indeed horrific but we, the people, can start to do something about it if we stay well-informed and connected. It’s good to know that there are people like you trying to do just that. X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Left leaning: http://zcomm.org/znet/ and http://www.democracynow.org/

    And when it all gets too much, and I feel like stopping the world and getting off, there is always this amazing live feed from the ISS: https://www.urthecast.com/live

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a former member of the press (photographer) I know the press stirs things up. “Slow” news days they will hunt for things to exploit. If they didn’t give so much attention and credence to these mad shooters, many of them know it will further their own soapbox and so they do it, not just out of hate but to have it broadcast around the world so everyone can see how brave and resolute they are. We need to stop broadcasting this stuff and let them wither in obscurity.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I completely agree with your suggestion, Sarah. I figured it out by accident, when I used to get a podcast broadcast from LinkTV called Mosaic. It was a collection of the top news stories of the day about Middle East issues, so broadcasts would come from places like Saudi Arabia, Palestine, Israel or Egypt, but also from Russia, Europe and African countries. After listening to the coverage of a single news event from the US, from BBC, and then from Mosaic… well… let’s say I got an education about how we are shaped by our news sources. Often the 3 or 5 perspectives I got were completely different.

    Like

  5. Such a wonderful idea Sarah. I avoid the news altogether because of the bias and promotion of fear and division amongst humans. Never feeling good about the choice to not watch news, I will check out some of the sources listed above as that seems a reasonable solution.

    I enjoyed watching the PBS,The Macneil Lehrer Newshour in particular, back in the States. Only a western view, but still better than corporate news.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I stopped watching/reading the news too for a long time; it’s very disturbing. But I find it’s a bit better now that I don’t automatically buy into the mindgames. I still often just skim the headlines though. If I go too deep I start to get depressed. I’m such a wimp! My hubby loves keeping up with current affairs so I let him digest it for me and tell it to me in manageable summaries.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I prefer to watch things like TED talks and Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday. They each touch on the atrocities of the world but from the perspective of people doing something to insure they don’t happen again.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well I can’t offer any suggestions as I have stopped watching the news almost entirely…I just can’t stomach it. Thanks for sharing this post…scheduled to post later today on A4P…maybe someone else will have some suggestions 🙂

    ~Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Melanie. 🙂 I know what you mean – the news can be depressing and distressing. I’ve had a few helpful suggestions in the comments already. I look forward to seeing if Artists4Peace can garner any more.

      Like

  8. Great points. I totally agree both with your post and the comments. It’s so true that we tend to get a very distorted view via the media. Sometimes the only way to know the truth is if you know someone where it is happening, even then so much happens behind the scenes.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Hi Sarah 🙂 These look like some interesting links to check out! Here in Canada, I’ve stopped listening to the distorted views of mainstream news :-/ The Rebel Media, fortunately, is not afraid to go against the politically correct grain @ http://www.therebel.media

    Hope 2016 is going well for you, so far! 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the link Jackie. I had a quick look and it looks interesting. It’s great that people are finding (and creating) alternatives to mainstream media.
      2016 is going well so far. How about you? Plenty of snow shovelling I guess. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, and so relieved to have found a trustworthy news source! Yet it is unfortunate to realize how corrupt/biased mainstream media has become 😛
        There hasn’t actually been a whole lot of snow to shovel, this season 🙂 Our local economy, however, is in drastic decline and hubby got laid-off January 4th 😦 So… not great, but God is in control! 🙂 ♥ ❤

        Like

      • We had a much milder December than usual but our weather is pretty much back to normal for the time of year now, i.e. cold, wet and windy.
        The economic situation here in the West of Ireland is also pretty bleak. People are leaving in droves. The only jobs seem to be in Dublin and abroad. What a terrible time for your husband to be laid off, I hope you find a solution soon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Sarah 🙂 Yeah, there’s never really a good time to get laid off. But they hung on for as long as possible—and may end up closing the doors altogether… sigh… It seems the whole world is experiencing economic strife :-/ In God’s hands, though, we’ll make it through to whatever our next step may be 🙂 ♥ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  10. we always watch RT – CNN is a joke and fox is dreadful, the others BBC is a st ick up the ass.. i can’t stand it. t hanks. eve

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: On My Soapbox | Artists4Peace

Leave a Reply

