December Flowers

We had quite a mild autumn here in the west of Ireland so there are a few more flowers in my garden than normal.  The temperature has dropped now and the winds have picked up but some of the plants are still trying to put on a show.  I thought I’d share some photos that I took of them today.  Some of them are a little bedraggled (Black-eyed Susan looks like she got that name in a fight for example) but they’re trying their best. 🙂

(As always, click a picture if you want a closer look.)

Posted on December 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Looks more like summer there. Thanks for the uplifting beauty. It is cold and rainy here today. 😀 I smile at the synchronicity. I started a post some time ago about the synchronicity between you and I. I forgot about it but today I added photos and links to what I started. I wrote today that your post “Flower for Colleen” pretty much started it all. As I look up to the choice for related posts to explore on your blog there it is “Flower for Colleen.” ❤ No rainbows or swans yet today though.

    Like

  2. Oh I needed these pics. We always have pansies and camellias and sometimes, odd blooming little violets but nothing like these. So very beautiful are these photos.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you like them, but I’m ashamed that I missed your birthday. I just found the little note I made of your birthday where it had got buried under a pile of other notes. I’m hopeless, please forgive this dizzy old woman.
      I’m glad the photos cheered you up a little. I would give you a hug if I could. ❤

      Like

  3. Very lovely Sarah; all I have here are the last of the flowers on a wonderful Abelia Grandiflora and a few stubborn petals elsewhere dotted around – it is still very mild here in Somerset nonetheless.

    Like

    • Thank you Hariod. I’m glad to hear that you’re sharing the mild weather. The climate here can be tough for gardeners in summer, particularly those that like to grow food, but we do usually seem to have milder winters than at the same latitude in the UK. One good thing is that we rarely have to worry about drought!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So lovely and you are so fortunate to have flowers, even now. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  5. They are all so beautiful, even the rowdy Susans. THanks for sharing this bit of colour in December. No flowers are blooming here, so I’ll use yours. 😉

    Like

    • You’re welcome. 🙂
      But you have your beautiful chucks to brighten your place up. I’d love to meet them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • chucks? Does that mean chickens? I’d love for you to meet all my creatures out here, the chickies, the cat, the deer and elk and even the coyotes.

        Like

      • Yes, my friends who keep chickens sometimes call them chucks. I’d love to meet them all. I think I might say hello to the coyotes through a window though… We don’t have anything remotely scary here in Ireland – not even any snakes. Well, actually, I did meet a hornet the other day that scared the willies out of me!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha ha!! That is too funny about the hornet. I mean, yes, they are scary, but you were talking about coyotes, so the comparison is funny. It’s hard to imagine a country with no scary things like snakes and wolves and bears. Coyotes are not scary to me, but they can be. They are the size of a domestic dog, and look like dogs. They’re dangerous because they are hungry and travel in packs. Dogs on the street are the exact same kind of threat. So they can be a menace, but I don’t put them into the same category as other wild animals. Not saying you shouldn’t but for some reason, I like the coyotes. I love listening to them howling at the moon at night when I go to sleep.

        Like

      • I’m sure I’d like coyotes too. I like watching wild animals as long as they’re at a safe distance. I love wildlife programmes on TV. 😀 We had adders in Wales but I never got near to one. My American friend over here, Sally, tells me how relieved she is not to have to check her boots for scorpions any more (she lived in Arizona for a while). I find her wild creature stories fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A Lovely collection, my Dear Sarah! Flowers always cheer Us up. Thanks for sharing. The Black Eyed Susans really looks as if they have had a hard time, though! 🙂

    Like

  7. How amazing to have all that glamour in your garden in December, the most colour we have left are the rotting coloured leaves 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

