Paper Snowflakes

I normally cut my own designs for snowflakes at this time of year.  When my daughter joins in we end up with a veritable snow drift of paper delights.  This year I made the mistake of looking at my Pinterest account.  This usually results in some new obsession; this time it looks like it’s other people’s snowflakes.  The ones shown below are mostly based on patterns I found via Pinterest.  The Celtic cross one I designed myself.  (As always, you can click on an image to see it more closely.)

Posted on November 25, 2015, in Craft, Origami and Papercraft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Wonderful work Sarah, although I have no idea how you do this. o_O

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing work! If only my fingers were still capable of doing such detailed cutting. Mind you, they haven’t been since my teens!

    Like

  3. Beautiful. I especially love the idea of a snowdrift that does not need shoveling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😀 Have you had any snow yet? When do the big snowfalls usually start?

      Like

      • We’ve had enough to cover the ground. Snow can start in October but the storms where we get feet at a time usually later in the winter when the temp drops. That’s when the lake effect snow really starts. Cold air blowing across a warm lake makes for a lot of shoveling. A couple of weeks ago I was talking to some neighbors as I was mowing my lawn and we all commented we never remember having to mow our lawns in November. Tomorrow might be 60F. Hope you’re having a beautiful day.

        Like

      • Gosh, I must remember that snow is a different proposition for people that have to deal with more of it. The only time that we had snow that didn’t melt after a few days was a nightmare. I think it was the winter of 2010, and the snow stayed for weeks. When the thaw came lots of people had burst pipes and no water supply for days. I shall have to remember that when I’m getting too romantic about it all!
        I hope you had a wonderful day. I went to see Sally and Bettina (my poet friend who is doing the Course in Miracles) in Mulranny yesterday. We had a lovely walk on the beach there. It was cold but beautiful.

        Like

      • What a fabulous day. I love beaches in all weather. I’ve grown up with the snow so I am used to it but for those who haven’t lived through lake effect — it can be quite the shock. We average 100″ to 120″ a year so we get used to seeing all white for months at a time. Enjoy the green of Ireland. 😀

        Like

      • Yes, I think that would be a shock for me. I can hardly imagine it.
        Ireland is indeed still green. It’s also very, very wet. 🙂 It’s getting colder but I’m thinking I might be able to do a photo post called “December flowers”, so you can guess how unusual our weather has been too.

        Like

      • Ooooh. I’ll look forward to that post. We have dandelions left for flowers around here but that is still better than all white with snow.

        Like

      • Well, after I wrote that comment the temperature plummeted and we’ve had gale force winds. I’m not sure what will have survived but if it’s pretty I will post photos. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. They’re all wonderful Sarah 🙂 So intricate and very addictive too I should think – mind you don’t disappear under a huge drift of snowflake clippings 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are lovely, albeit I am hoping the only snowflakes we will see this year are paper ones! I very much like the way you entwine your Welsh heritage with your Irish influences in your art.

    Like

  6. Oh how I love snow! Snow snow snow. I know it is an inconvenience for many but I love snow. And paper snowflakes – it takes me back to my childhood. Mine never look this pretty but I like to do them. Small or large. I put on my windows and enjoy them until spring. Beautiful work you did on these!

    Like

  7. I am presently “covered” with snow. ( Montana, USA). It is beautifully lacing…well, suffacating the mountains and freezing the lakes..has frozen. Past tense.
    Thank you for visiting my site and posting a like. You are a joyful like on my site.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Another Snowflake | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

