Linux Update with Poetry Accompaniment

I’m now communicating to you without the help of MicroSoft or Windows; yay!  It will take me a while to get used to Linux but, thankfully, it’s not me who’s in charge of the switch-over.  My better half is doing most of the hard work.  I just had to make sure all my important stuff was backed up in a portable format.  Easier said than done but I think I did okay (fingers crossed).

Here is a poem I just found that I like very much.  It works best if you read it out loud:

The world is charged with the grandeur of God.
    It will flame out, like shining from shook foil;
    It gathers to a greatness, like the ooze of oil
Crushed. Why do men then now not reck his rod?
Generations have trod, have trod, have trod;
    And all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil;
    And wears man’s smudge and shares man’s smell: the soil
Is bare now, nor can foot feel, being shod.
And for all this, nature is never spent;
    There lives the dearest freshness deep down things;
And though the last lights off the black West went
    Oh, morning, at the brown brink eastward, springs —
Because the Holy Ghost over the bent
    World broods with warm breast and with ah! bright wings.
Source: Gerard Manley Hopkins: Poems and Prose (Penguin Classics, 1985) via http://www.poetryfoundation.org
Posted on September 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Beautiful. Thank’s for sharing. I have no idea what Linux is but you sound happy about it — so congrats and enjoy. 😀

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen, sorry for the jargon. Linux is just an alternative operating system to MS Windows. It lets you do the same sort of stuff but it’s workings are more transparent and modifiable (for techies anyway), plus it opens up a whole new world of free software. 😀

      Like

  2. Great ART! — success on linux, been using it since 1996 … have fun

    Like

  3. Yeah, i was referring ART to the next post :-), but this quoted ‘poetry’ is very beautiful too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the Gerard Manley Hopkins poem! It was his “spring and fall” poem recited by a friend years ago that in an instant converted me from a person who hated and feared poetry to a poetry-lover….Isn’t it strange how a mere poem can change one’s life in a second but Hopkins did that to me.i think he would be happy to know that, maybe… Anyhow, glad there is another GMH fan out there!

    Pamela

    Like

    • I was like that with poetry too – I didn’t really get what all the fuss was about. But a poem that speaks to your heart can sweep you away in a moment. It’s still rare for a poem to do that to me but at least now I’m much more open to the possibility. I’m sure GMH would have been overjoyed with your “conversion”. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

