Krita Critter

VisionOnLogo

This image might be familiar to readers who remember the British TV artist Tony Hart.  It’s my quick attempt at the logo for his “Vision On” programme.  I’m trying out a drawing package called Krita.  When I saw the mirroring tool I immediately wanted to try the reproduce the “Vision On” logo.

And why am I trying Krita when I love Manga Studio so much?  Well, with the inexorable push to move to Windows 10, I am feeling more inclined to jump from the Microsoft ship into the ocean that is Linux.  Krita is available on both platforms whereas Manga Studio is not.  Plus, and this is not a negligible factor, Manga Studio is priced very reasonably but Krita is absolutely free.  🙂

Posted on September 11, 2015, in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I can totally relate to your motivations. 🙂 Also, what you made here is pretty neat – and actually *looks* like a Kritta, or critter

    Like

  2. I like the sound of this app a lot, Sarah. And I love your Vision On logo!

    Like

  3. How fun trying something new. 😀

    Like

  4. Many happy hours spent watching Vision on as a child 🙂 Yours is a great version too!

    Like

    • Thanks Caren, I thought a few people might remember it. I loved Tony Hart’s programmes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • He was a real inspiration to me as a youngster, such a talented guy!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t realise it at the time but he inspired me too. He, along with Rolf Harris I guess – do you remember those huge speed paintings he used to do? (“Can you guess what it is yet?”)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I certainly do! 🙂 Ehh!! Life with only three channels, no internet and no mobile whatevers…kind of miss those days sometimes 😉

        Like

      • Yeah, and no remote. No wonder people were thinner then – we had to get up every time we wanted to change the channel!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Another reason I miss those days being thinner LOL!! If I had to get up and change the channel now, goodness knows where I would press?? …everything is so sealed in, a bit like trying to talk to a real person, instead of a remote automated voice when you need real help on the phone! Are we sure this century is better, I have many doubts sometimes?! How would the generation in front of us, and those beyond cope if the plug was pulled in technology and the net?? Scary or what ;-/ But, on a happier note..hope you’ve had a good day 😀

        Like

      • The weather is miserable but I did have a good day despite it, thanks, how about you?
        Yes, I also have my doubts about “progress”. I miss the days when things had a mechanical on/off switch and you knew they were off. I’ve heard one of my devices turning itself on in the night and doing lord only knows what. It’s unnerving! Still, I’d find it hard to go back to a time without the Internet – the pluses are usually worth the minuses, don’t you think? As for pulling the plug, I was a programmer when we were approaching the turn of the millenium and we were encouraged to imagine what things would be like if the technology went kablooie. We were well motivated to make sure that the Y2K issue was sorted out in advance. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not too bad a day, lots of mess back on my table, LOL I’m sure it will turn into something at some point 😉
        It is a bit scary when mechanical things decide to come to life of their own accord…goodness knows what they are conspiring……???
        The pluses are of course making lovely friends, like yourself :-), without the internet, it just wouldn’t have happened! The minuses are of course not spending too much time on it and getting on with reality, which can be a trouble at times, I find, especially if you get involved in a search for something like I do. Thank goodness too for people like yourselves, we all have much to thank programmers for with all your preparations 🙂

        Like

      • I look forward to seeing what your mess turns into. 🙂
        Yes, the social side of the Internet is very rewarding. I can’t imagine how our paths would have crossed otherwise, for example. It is a shame there’s no real prospect of meeting in person though. That’s particularly true of my blogging buddies in further-flung regions, but I guess we should say never say never, eh?

        Btw, I wouldn’t be too quick to thank the programmers; they’re probably the ones who cause the problems in the first place! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL I seem to be gradually working my way through the scraps forming the odd cushion here and there! 😉
        It’s true, without platforms, like WP and many others peoples’ paths would doubtfully have crossed. Sometimes I think we talk more to people across the world than with a next door neighbour
        LOL about the programmers, though I doubt you were in that category 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • “The odd cushion here and there” 😀 You make it sounds so easy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL 😀 It’s certainly easier to stack a sewn together mass of bits and pieces than to try and cram them in an unruly mess back into boxes and bags 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It took my dim witted brain a while to see how clever that logo is. o_O

    Like

  1. Pingback: Another Snowflake | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

  2. Pingback: Modern Magpie | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

  3. Pingback: Border Control | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

