Almost Vegan Yums

This blog has been very quiet lately.  I guess I got out of the blogging habit while I was sick.  Also, I don’t have much to share.  I’ve been catching up on chores, plus we’re trying to decorate the house.  Not very exciting, but it has to be done.

I thought I would fill the space with a couple of my recent cooking experiments.  This is for your amusement/enlightenment as much as anything else.  I’m much more comfortable spending my time in the kitchen making cabinets or painting than I am cooking.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy cooking.  In fact, I love to bake.  The thing is I’m just not a very good cook.  I don’t know why but I’m really scatterbrained about it.  I always forget to buy a vital ingredient, or I buy the wrong thing, or I forget to put something into the mix, etc.

First up is a recipe for Boursin-style cheese from the Bunny Kitchen blog that I mentioned in a previous post.  I’ve been having trouble getting some of the ingredients for my vegan experiments.  Poppy, who runs the aforementioned blog, suggested that I might be able to get the unsweetened soya yoghurt for this recipe from Tesco’s.  Having been previously disappointed by their poor selection of soya yoghurts, I was surprised to find that this time they had quite a good range.  I was so excited by this that I forgot to check that the plain yoghurt was unsweetened.  When I got it home and realised my mistake I decided to give the recipe a go anyway (sorry Poppy!).  I added extra salt to compensate for the sugar in the yoghurt.  I also left out the garlic, even though that’s my favourite flavour in Boursin, because I didn’t want to smell of it.  Anyway, given all that, it turned out to be quite edible.  I was impressed by the texture – authentic and creamy.

The second recipe turned out to be very tasty, just not as vegan as it was intended to be.  It’s a recipe that I adapted from one that we got years ago off the back of a tofu packet.  It wasn’t until I was congratulating myself on making a successful vegan meal that I realised that I had used egg noodles.  Doh!  Anyway, here’s the recipe (it serves 3-4 depending on how many noodles you add):

Ingredients

  • packet of firm tofu, pressed* and cubed
  • tamari sauce (optional)
  • salt and pepper
  • half an onion, chopped
  • ginger root, peeled and grated (about an inch cube is more than enough)
  • pinch of herbs
  • sun-dried tomatoes in oil, chopped
  • red pepper, chopped
  • half a green pepper, chopped
  • tomato puree
  • cream from tin of coconut milk stored in fridge overnight
  • pasta or noodles

Method

  1. Let tin of coconut milk settle in fridge overnight.
  2. Marinate tofu in oil from jar of tomatoes for at least 30 minutes but preferably overnight.  You can also add a dash of tamari sauce at this stage for a bit of extra flavour.
  3. Cook pasta or noodles according to the packet instructions.
  4. Meanwhile, in a large pan/wok, fry the onion in the oil that was used to marinate the tofu.
  5. Season tofu with salt and pepper, and fry with the onions.
  6. Add peppers, then mushrooms, then tomatoes.
  7. Stir in coconut cream, tomato puree and noodles.
  8. Enjoy!  😀

I’ve been quite vague about the quantities and timings because I think you should decide how much suits your taste buds.  If you have any questions please leave me a comment below.

* There are usually instructions on the packet about how best to do this.

Posted on April 15, 2015, in Vegetarian and Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. They both sound good. I’ve made the homemade Boursin myself but not vegan. I usually use non-fat unsweetened yogurt. I put it in a tea strainer lined with a paper towel so a lot of the liquid drains off and is thicker. I was going to give you a new easy recipe I tried but it isn’t vegan so…..It’s good to have you posting again and finding out what is going on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I don’t want to be gone too long and miss everything.
      I wish I’d known about homemade Boursin years ago. It’s fun and it saves money (at least I think it probably does). 🙂
      It’s a shame about your recipe – could it be converted to be vegan do you think? I haven’t gone vegan yet but I want all my new meals to be vegan. It’s a shame your beautiful daffodil cake relies on eggs so heavily. I don’t think vegan egg replacer would be up to the job somehow. 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness, what amazing flavour this must have!

    Like

  3. yeseventhistoowillpass

    I wondered where you had disappeared to… It’s good to see you back…

    Like

  4. It’s nice to see you posting again Sarah, and I’m so pleased you must be almost back to your full strength and fitness once more 🙂
    LOL 😉 After our little convos about our cooking prowess (or lack of…) It was great to see your first post back after your marathon sickie was about food and what your have been up to!! Looks scrummy 🙂 but I must admit, I’m not bothered about ponging of garlic and would probably have given it half a bulb….I would have known when it was ready, as per my gong LOL (…we know what I mean) I bet I could even burn that given time hehe 😀

    Like

    • Sorry Caren, I forgot to say that I’m pretty much fully recovered now. It’s just taking me forever to get caught up with everything.
      My hubby hates the smell of garlic so I have to wait until he’s away (or he upsets me 😉 ) until I can use it.
      LOL, I’m sure even you couldn’t set off the smoke alarm with homemade Boursin!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so happy you are back up to scratch Sarah :-D, I know what it’s like trying to catch up…a bit like chasing your own tail…it keeps getting away from you! ;-/
        LOL poor you, missing out on all that garlic loveliness and all the health benefits too..If only you had sucked on a raw clove or two every day during your lurgy – I’m sure it would have killed it off much more quickly! Perhaps……hehe..if you can’t introduce garlic to your hubby, you could recommend a peg for his own medicinal purposes LOL 😉 I wouldn’t wish you to have to resort to falling out with him before you can enjoy it….I’m just imagining the fragrant pong of butter sautéed mushrooms with half a bulb of garlic awaiting to be festooned upon some slightly burnt garlic bread along with fried onions and tomatoes……sigh!! Heaven in a pan – the smoke alarm tells me so!! ;-D….. As for the Boursin, it probably wouldn’t set the alarm off…but the crunchy charred bread to accompany it might 😉

        Like

      • Awww, now you’ve started me craving some crispy garlic bread and juicy garlic mushrooms. You’re so mean. 😉
        You’re right about the medicinal properties of garlic. I used to be a big fan. I tried the garlic capsules once to see if he could tolerate those but I swear that man can detect single garlic molecules, he’s that sensitive. I think he’d need an NBC gas mask rather than a peg!
        Oooo, boursin and crispy bread would be worth the alarm bells. Yum. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • :-D….Oooops, sorry about that !! LOL, I can just imagine your hubby sittting in his mask during a family pizza evening…he sure is going to miss out…mind you, it means bigger pieces for everyone else 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Well done for overcoming your fears! Sorry about the yoghurt – how did it taste? You could make one of the sweet variations with the Boursin recipe! The tofu noodles sound delicious!

    Like

    • Thanks Poppy. I shall make sure I buy unsweetened next time because I really want to try your savoury recipe properly.

      I hope you give the tofu noodles a try. Feel free to publish your own twist on it if you want. I’m sure you can do a better version than me. 🙂

      Btw I found nutritional yeast flakes in a health food shop but I still haven’t found vital wheat gluten.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That sounds delicious. Have you read “The Uncheese Cookbook”? I tried some recipes from it a while back, and they turned out quite well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

