Egg on my Face

I haven’t been looking forward to posting this.  However, I said that I was going to do a serious post about eggs, and here it is.  I have a confession that must be made before I show you my Easter crafting photos.

Why do I have egg on my face?  It concerns my egg consumption habit.  One doesn’t have to look far for evidence that egg production is cruel at any scale.  Leaving aside the horrific videos one can find on the Internet, all one has to do is ask oneself what happens to all the unwanted male chicks?  The answer is obvious; they must be disposed of somehow.  Even if they are not tossed alive into meat grinders or plastic bags, they still have to be killed.  All those sweet little fluffy yellow lives snuffed out before they’ve hardly begun for the sake of my omelettes and French toast (and so on).  And that is only the tip of the iceberg.  What about the cruelty of keeping birds (you know, those creatures with wings that fly wherever they want) captive and stealing their eggs?  Knowing all this you’d think I’d be able to stop eating eggs, wouldn’t you?  But no, I just keep on doing it.  It’s a bad habit that I can’t seem to break,  I have many excuses, but mostly it’s an unthinking habit.  It was only after I’d had a marvelous day decorating over a dozen eggs for Easter that I realised how badly my actions are divorced from my beliefs.

So, what am I going to do about it?  Well, I think a good start is to find lots of new egg-free dishes.  I’ve been thinking about this for a while so when I saw a competition on Bunny Kitchen blog for a vegan cookbook I decided to enter it.  The recipes sounded so delicious I was eager to win.  And I did: when I was making the transition from flu to chest infection, I was delighted to receive an email telling me the good news.  My sincerest thanks go to Poppy of Bunny Kitchen for that.  The book arrived a few days later.  My mouth has been watering as I’ve been reading it.  However, being ill, I haven’t had the energy to try any of the recipes yet but I will let you know how I get on as soon as I do.

Posted on April 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. Well, I still eat eggs from time to time. But if the waitress serves them on my face instead of a plate, there will be egg on the walls, floors and ceiling.

    Like

  2. No photo of the winning dish Sarah? I’ll click through the thinks to find one. By the way, I shall be on my travels for the next three weeks and so will see you upon my return. In the meantime, all best wishes, and with metta, Hariod.

    Like

    • I didn’t have to cook anything Hariod. 🙂 Which is lucky really because I’m not a very good cook. I hope you have a wonderful trip – business or pleasure? With metta to you also. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can’t find the competition at Bunny Kitchen, though I have just discovered their Coconut Chia Oatmeal with Raspberry which looks perfect for an ‘anytime breakfast’. I am going to visit family and friends who are dispersed across England Sarah, and who I normally only can communicate with online or by ‘phone. I daresay we’ll all be shocked at how we’ve aged! H ❤

        Like

      • If you click on the link marked “vegan cookbook” in my post it should take you to the competition post. Please let me know if you can’t get it to work. I’m glad you found something tasty to try at Bunny Kitchen.
        I hope you have a wonderful time catching up with everyone. I don’t suppose you’re going to squeeze in a post before you go, are you?

        Liked by 1 person

      • The link doesn’t reveal your entry Sarah, and I’m just letting you know as requested. Thank you for your kind wishes, and I look forward to touching base again in about 3 weeks time, either with a post of my own, or more certainly, one of your own here. Once again with metta, Hariod. ❤

        Like

      • I’ve just posted my Easter egg post if you have time before you go.
        Thanks for letting me know about the link. It just takes you to the competition page. Entry was simply to make a comment (which you should be able to see if you scroll down the competition page) about vegan protein, and a few other optional tasks. Sorry for all the confusion.

        Like

  3. I’m glad I read this last comment because I’ve already been to the site looking for ‘your’ recipe. Now I know why I couldn’t find it. Happy Easter!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I understand your dietary dilemma. As you know I’ve written about my attempts and failures seeking to go vegetarian and failing due to my health issues. I watched a PBS special on plants a while back. When I was done watching it, I was like now what do I eat? Plants are of course living just as animals are and watching the video they had all the same behaviors as animals. I finally decided that FOR ME — the best thing would be to eat more plants than animals — to eat as much of my food as possible that had been raised with love and consciously — this would be no pesticides and forced feedings or GMO’s or factory farms. I buy my eggs from a farmer who actually lets his chickens run around in the field and his breeding sow thinks “normal” is to lay down and have her ears rubbed. I have a garden and buy from our local farmer’s markets. I think most importantly, I cook my own food. Rarely, do I buy processed foods and then I buy organic. Thanks for sharing your egg story — it certainly opens up the conversation of how ALL life should be valued and how are we individually going to come to grips with that? ❤ Enjoy your new recipes. And of course with our synchronicity you'll laugh when I tell you I was getting up to make french toast and decided to read your blog first.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Oh dear, I hope you still managed to enjoy your French toast. It’s funny, we call it eggy bread but I wasn’t sure people would know what I was talking about so I used the term that I had just read on someone else’s blog. 🙂 Funny how our synchronicities happen like that.

      There are all sorts of issues to consider when changing one’s diet. Some are easier to deal with than others. Health consequences are probably the trickiest. I’m sorry that it isn’t easier for you to eat according to your conscience, but at least you’ve found places to source more ethical produce.

      Like

      • My french toast aka eggy bread was quite yummy. I love hearing what other people call things. In college, I had two roommates from different parts of New York. We had fun figuring out we often were talking about the same thing but calling it something different. Ex. a long piece of bread filled with meat and veg to me was a sub or submarine sandwich to my roommates it was called a hero sandwich or a torpedo, others call it a hoagie. Enjoy whatever you decide to eat today. 😀

        Like

      • I’m glad you enjoyed your eggy bread. 🙂 When I was growing up we always used to call sandwiches “butties”, whereas my husband (from a completely different part of the UK) called them “sarnies”. We don’t really have subs of any kind unless it’s from one of the relatively new Subway-type shops. I had my first sub on the first day of my first trip to the US. It was huge and filled with meatballs. It was hard to eat tidily. 🙂

        Like

      • Meatball subs are one of the toughest to eat. It is difficult to pick up without the meatballs falling out and to awkward to cut up into small enough pieces to eat. Do you know the origin of the names “butties” and “sarnies”?

        Like

      • Hmm, good question, no I didn’t. I did a quick google and found the butty comes from the British habit of using butter on the bread on the sandwich (the Irish people I’ve watched making sandwiches usually use dry bread). Sarnies is a shortened regional form of the word sandwich with “ie” on the end (because we often add that sound to terms of endearment and so on). Sandwiches are an incredibly popular choice for lunch in Britain.

        Like

      • Sometime here put butter on sandwiches. Sandwiches here used to be the main thing to take to work/school for lunch until the microwave was invented now I think a lot of people bring leftovers. Wouldn’t it be fun if we could sit down at a huge table with someone from every region of the world and share all the different types of foods?

        Liked by 1 person

      • That would be great. I love trying new foods. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love eggs too so I understand your dilemma. I always buy “free range” eggs, which doesn’t necessarily mean pasture raised, but at least not in cages… and always organic. The plight of the male chicks is abhorrent but at least with their lives cut short they don’t have to endure the tortured life of a factory chicken. I buy 95% of my eggs from the local farmers’ market and they do say they are raised humanely but I only have their word without inspecting the farm myself. I don’t eat four-legged animals but I do eat chicken…. again free range and organic. And I always thank the chicken for giving up its life and that I will be a better person so its life was not in vain! It’s a huge issue for me. I was a vegan for years but cannot go back to that diet. I eat a lot of nuts, beans and plants for protein. So I am as conscious as I can be about what I am eating. Oh,and I love cheese… but mostly buy from a goat rescue farm. Thanks for a thought-provoking post… I wish more people cared about where their food came from… including pet food.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful reply. There are a lot of thorny issues to deal with when considering animal welfare, aren’t there?
      Pet food is an issue for us because we have cats. Cats can’t eat vegetarian food like dogs can because they are unable to make taurine, an amino acid that is only found in meat. We have never gone out to get cats but, as you probably know, they have a habit of adopting humans. We called our first stray cat Murphy after Murphy’s Law because he’d chosen the only house for miles without any meat or even milk. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I can quite understand your dilemma…And also, Many congrats on winning the comp too!!!! 😀
    Even though I don’t eat eggs, well not more than a 6th of an egg ( 12 Yorkshire puddings using 2 eggs) If I eat more than that I have a reaction : ( , as I do with ALL white meat as well!!…it’s been over 20 years since I have eaten any white meat or eggs and have had to stick to quite a restrictive diet and check for ingredients in any processed food – I had such an awful time after eating a small tin of ”sausage and beans” and had to have a doctor come out – only to discover the sausages contained chicken!!!..but I do agree its very unfair for the male chickens to suffer such a fate because of their gender! I hope your prize helps you out in your future cooking endeavours 😀

    Like

    • Thank you Caren. I’ve never heard of a white meat allergy before. I’ve heard of egg allergy. I’m sorry that you have such difficulty on top of your heart worries. 😦 I suppose the silver lining is that you can’t eat too much processed food and you get to eat yummy home-cooked food all the time. 🙂 Does hubby cook for you?

      Thanks for the congratulations. It didn’t take any skill to win the competition, just pure blind luck. Maybe the Universe wanted to cheer me up after I had the flu.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think you definitely deserved the planets to line up in your favour after suffering so miserably with the terrible bout of lurgy 😉
        It’s quite true, I do make all my own food, rather than buy processed or ready cooked meals and have done all our married life….a rare treat is a chippy tea! ‘Does hubby cook for me??’…there’s a question that won’t take long to answer….’No!’ Not once EVER in the 34 years I’ve known him, We really did try and get him to help out and learn after I came out of hospital…he stirred the mushrooms in a pan for a little while, then disappeared and left me to it!!! Though to be fair..he does the washing up on Christmas Day!!…So I suppose I shouldn’t complain ;-/

        Like

      • Oh my goodness! That’s hopeless! Oh well, I suppose it means that you’re in no doubt about who’s in charge in the kitchen. 🙂 You must be a really good cook. If you were a bad cook like me then your husband would be forced to take a turn or two. I’m a bit like the mum on that 70’s TV show called Butterflies – do you remember that?

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL! OMG I loved that program :-D, I do have a lot of good moments in the kitchen, though I do also set off the smoke alarm frequently – especially when frying mushrooms, I like to consider the smoke alarm as a modern day gong in our house ;-/, whenever it goes off, you know the meal is just about ready(or burnt!!) 😀

        Like

      • 😀 It’s kind of nice to hear that you burn things too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL! It’s good to know my culinary disasters are in some way a comfort 😀 😀 😀 ….here’s to many more crispy crunchy teatimes!! LOL (and, I reckon, it goes to prove, sometimes I have just too many things to do at once!!!) 😉

        Like

      • 😀 There’s a silver lining to every cloud.

        I bet you don’t often admit to having too many things on the go. I reckon you’re a prime example of women’s knack for multi-tasking. Do you have an extra pair of hands hidden under your apron? (No, I don’t mean someone else’s hands. 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL!!! 😀 I could sure do with a couple of extra hands at any given time – many hands make light work…and all that stuff!!
        Now, if it were someone else’s hands……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..LOL LOL LOL 😉

        Like

      • LOL 😀 They might be a bit distracting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL…..very probably!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I hope you enjoy the book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve really enjoyed going through it. Thanks Poppy. I’m eager to try the seitan but I’m having trouble finding some of the ingredients. There’s still a couple more places I can try though. I’m also having trouble finding unsweetened soya yog for your boursin recipe. I’ll let you know how I get on.

      Like

  8. Ugh. And here I grew up farming, and never once thought what happens to the male chicks. OMG.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great post, Sarah. You were brave to write so honestly about your convictions at odds with your behavior. I know it’s true for me too, though I try to get better every day. Congratulations on winning the contest and I hope you have many happy cooking days ahead of you.

    Like

  10. Love eggs – couldn’t live without them. I am I think one of the lucky people: my friends have a free range, organic egg farm and I drive there once per month for fresh eggs. Looking forward to seeing the results of your egg-free recipes Sarah 🙂

    Like

  11. Very good and Very Kind of You to think of the Chickens and the Birds, my Dear Sandra! Went to the site: BunnyKitchen (should they not have called it ‘Plant Kitchen?’ 🙂 ), and found it quite good, and even exotic!

    Like

  12. I’ve struggled with desire for chicken and eggs for years, but doing well without them most of the time now, probably since lent when I am a more strict vegetarian. This post helps me to be more consistent with my beliefs. Fish is another matter, After lent, I went back to eating fish about once a week. But no one is perfect. At least we are conscious and moving in a good direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

