Spanning the Decades with Music

I’m feeling a lot better now.  Thank you for all your kind comments on my last post.  It’s going to take me a while to catch up with you all.  I’ve also got quite a few blog posts backed up.  I took my daughter to Sally’s for another Easter crafting session yesterday so I want to share some of our egg photos.  I also want to share a more serious post about eggs.  Before I get serious though I wanted to start on a lighter note.  During our crafting session we shared music from our formative years.  Sally sang us an Easter song that was huge in the fifties and she found the original Gene Autry version for us on her tablet.  Here is a different version that I found that comes with a cute cartoon from the same era:

My contribution had to come from the ’80s.  Sally told us that eighties music had completely passed her by.  She mentioned seeing George Michael on the telly recently but she doesn’t remember him from the ’80s.  I told her about Wham and played “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go”.  It was a bit embarrassing to share that with my daughter but it’s definitely representative of ’80s.  I think I recovered my cool a little when I told her that I’d been to a ton of concerts.  However, when I said I’d seen Cher she thought I meant Cher Lloyd.  😉

The most fun part for me was when my daughter made her contribution.  She played one thing that I didn’t enjoy much because she had to find a version without profanities and that makes me worry about the inappropriate stuff she’s seeing.  The rest were great.  Ylvis’s “What Does the Fox Say” is hilarious (I also want to know what the rabbit says btw) but I thought, given my obsession with knotwork, that this would be more appropriate for my blog:

I also enjoyed DSharp’s version of Glad You Came, and there were plenty of other nifty YouTubes that she introduced us to but I can’t remember them all now.

Posted on April 2, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Thanks that was lots of fun. I’d seen “What does the fox say?” and loved it. But the Trucker’s Hitch song was hilarious too. Maybe because I used to play violin but that one was my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You did spread the fun. Your daughter and the concert story reminded me of when I was teaching. One of my fourteen year old students was trying to connect with me and asked if I ever did anything embarrassing? I could do a blog about that list but I told her how i had just gone to a concert — there was no soap in the ladies room so I went to the office to tell them. There was a guy walking out of the office so I told him. It turned out he was a member of Enter the Haggis, the band I was there to see. The students got really quiet and the kept repeating “YOU went to a concert?! YOU like Enter the Haggis?!” It was nice to feel cool for a few minutes. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love your story. Embarrassment aside, how great that your considerate act meant that you got to meet one of the band.
      I’m so not cool. I haven’t even heard of Enter the Haggis. 🙂

      Like

  3. I don’t know Sarah, I just don’t get it. It’s all good fun, but ‘What Does the Fox Say’ had 503,114,363 viewings on YouTube up until just now. That means either that every fourteenth person on the earth has viewed it, or there’s a lot of very obsessive viewers! Half a billion viewings – phew!

    Like

  4. Ithink most parents worry about inappropriateness of music, clothing, etc. Even though I was an adult, my mother certainly didn’t enjoy hearing me sing, I want your sex while mopping the floor or something. Of course, I was almost 30 but still…mothers are like that. Fathers are worse. I was a wild flower child so there ya go. But instead of lecturing me and shaking her head over me, she told me “being cool isn’t always what is in style or what everyone else is doing. Being cool is being yourself and having the strength of your convictions be different. it’s a harder road but it is a better road and being yourself is definitely more scenic. Seing the same scenery is boring but that tree that is a different color or the flowers that are a different shape or the wind that sings a different song….never boring. Be you. Don’t be a cheap copy.” and it helped a lot. She encouraged my individuality and self confidence and shared she had been a teen like me and all that. She wasn’t saying it was okay to give the milk before buying the cow, but to be careful, be responsible, and never feel pressured. It meant a lot. I had a similar discussion with my teens in my Sunday School class last year when this sort of thing was brought up. I could see it helped them a lot. I don’t know much about European music groups. It’s good to have you back. You def. were missed and I do so thank you for sharing the fun and am so glad you can have fun with your daughter.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks but apparently I’m not so cool either. Apparently, Enter the Haggis has changed their name to Jubilee Riot and I didn’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. BTW – ever read any of the books by RA MacAvoy? Twisting the Rope, Book of Kells, Tea with the Black Dragon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooo, no, I haven’t. Thanks for the tip, I’ll look into it.

      Like

      • She was a really big sci fi/fantasy writer of the 80’s with Celtic and Zen themes….I am in the process of re-reading all these years later and still enjoying!

        Like

      • I’ve asked my hubby to order Tea With the Black Dragon for me. I don’t remember coming across this author before but the title “Damiano” rings a bell. I think I might be confusing it with a book by Anne McAffrey though – Damia. Did you ever read any Anne McAffrey? I found them entertaining but not on the same level as authors like Orson Scott Card or Julian May. Who are your favourite sci-fi/fantasy authors (I won’t ask you to pick just one)?

        Like

  7. wonderful to find
    joyful song in well-being 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, I am indeed very grateful for my returning health. It is a very precious thing. I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than to share music and dance with loved ones. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It sounds like you all had a lot of fun and great to hear you are feeling so much better! 🙂

    Like

  9. Fun contributions by the different generations! I would have submitted 80s music as well, so I can relate to that. I was crazy about What does the Fox Say for the longest time, but I had not seen Trucker’s Hitch. Not as catchy but just as funny. I love artists who don’t take themselves too seriously. One of Tara’s favourites is still Weird Al, and I loved him when I was a teen too.

    Like

    • Catchy is right! I’ve had What Does the Fox Say going round and round in my head for days. Hubby doesn’t get things like that so I’m glad my daughter has inherited my taste and not his. 🙂
      We didn’t really get exposed to Weird Al in the UK. I’ve heard of him but I wouldn’t know what his music is like. The only quirky American singer I can think of is David Lee Roth. I loved him – he’s super bright and I don’t think he takes himself very seriously. Is he still doing his thing? I’m a bit out of touch.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh, yes, I forgot to say: I’m so glad you’re feeling better! hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. HI Sarah, It has been a difficult winter for me too, but I am back…glad to see that you are recuperating. LOVED Truckers Hitch! Had me bobbing my head! Just wonderful! Have you tried making your own tofu? It is so much better than store boughten and it takes exactly 50 minutes from start to finish and clean up for one brick, most of just waiting…I love my home made tofu and soy milk! I can tell you how any time. Take care, and glad to be back! Hope you get back to the arts and crafts and origami eventually or at least the cabinets and painting… Pam Wagner

    Like

    • Hey Pam, it’s great to hear from you. Sorry you’ve had a tough winter. I haven’t tried to make tofu but I did try to make plant-based milks (I think one was rice and the other oats) with not much success. As I’ve confessed, I’m not much of a cook but I’m willing to give anything a try. Sometimes I hit the jackpot. 🙂 I’d love to have homemade tofu.
      The painting is going well – 2 rooms finished so far. Talking of painting, it’s a while since I checked out your artwork (sorry about that) so I’ll pop over in a minute. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Sarah, for your many visits to Wagblog today! You know, when I suggested making soy milk and tofu, I did not tell you that I actually cheat and use a soymilk making MACHINE, so it is EASY and foolproof, and making tofu then is really, really easy: you just stir in coagulator (nigari) and let it rest, then mold it up and press it and let nature do the rest…I have made rice milks and almost milks in my machine, and this long ago paid for itself. It was well worth the money, which was under $100.00 ten years ago. So while I always try to do most things by hand, this time someone, a nurse at a hospital I was in, told me it was well worth purchasing a machine for the job, and so I did and have never once regretted it. All it does, but it does it well and easily, is heat and grind up the beans, but wow does this make making soy milk and rice and almond milks a dream come true. A one-pot affair even for tofu in fact, All you need then is the tofu brick mold and a handkerchief. I would heartily advise anyone who likes or for that matter does not like making soy or plant based milks to purchase a soy milk maker, It will make your cooking milks much much easier in the end. and either make you a better cook or give you time to do other cooking or non cooking things, whichever your heart truly desires!

        best wishes.

        Pam

        Like

      • Thanks Pam, that sounds great. The easier the better. 🙂 I will look into it. Niche things like that can be tricky to get here, even over the Internet (there’s some weird restrictions on shipping over here).
        Best wishes to you too. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

