Copper Knot WIP

There’s a painting I’ve been wanting to re-do for a while now.  I started the original because I had a lot of leftover orange paint from a previous painting.  What a terrible reason to start a painting!  Anyway, I’d been wanting to do something with a knot that I’ve been toying with for years.  (I was playing with it in 2013.)  I wanted to make the knot the star of the show rather than it being used to frame or decorate something.  I ended up with something a bit seventies; somebody even called it “funky”.

justknotpaintingEver since I finished the painting, I’ve been wanting to paint out the orange ring.  Also, I had wanted the central knot to look 3D but it never happened.  On the plus side, I like the colours in the outer stripes, they remind me of ice cream somehow.  So, what have I been up to.  Well, rather than slap some more paint over the top I thought I’d try out some ideas in Manga Studio.  Here’s pretty much the original colour scheme but with a 3D knot using my newly-acquired skills at imitating old copper.justknotorigcoloursAnd here’s where I’ve tried to limit the colour palette slightly and add some texture.

justknotsnewcoloursIt’s still looking a little too funky for my taste so I’m going to keep experimenting.  I’ll probably do a cut-down digital version composed mainly of the copper knot.

Posted on February 26, 2015, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Seems like you are having fun and creating beauty while doing that …

    Like

  2. Wow! I love Celtic knots and you have done a superb version, I really like how you have worked your ‘copper’ technique into it – it works brilliantly!!! 🙂 Funky but very Cooool! 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Caren, I’m glad you like it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have done some basic Celtic artwork (on mirror frames and the like) but I really like the whole composition of having the knot as the focus in the centre, as you have made it. The only other centred knot piece I did was as a hand stitched ‘lover’s knot’ on the bottom of hubby’s butty bag for work- he knows it’s there but no body else can see it! 😉

        Like

      • I love knotwork but it doesn’t get appreciated enough so I thought I’d bring it to the fore. I’m fascinated with knots that consist of unbroken strands, particularly those, like this one, that are made up of just one strand. I’m glad you like knots too. I’d love to carve a knot in wood some time. My neighbour back home carved a Welsh love spoon for his wife. It’s beautiful. Have you seen any?

        Liked by 1 person

      • It is a shame that knotwork isn’t more popular, though with your lovely work, you should inspire others to have a go perhaps! I expect it would be very hard to delicately carve a little wooden spoon, though very satisfying as well, your neighbour back in Wales must have been very talented! I have seen love spoons, in fact thinking about it, George’s old violin teacher used to have a few hung around his open fire, they are really pretty! I hope you get to have a go one day – love to see it if you do 🙂

        Like

      • My neighbour is an inspiring man. He’s lost his eyesight now though so he won’t be doing any more carving. He spends his time traveling round the U.K. instead.

        Spoon carving is on a very long list of things I want to try. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s such a shame about your neighbour’s sight, especially as he sounded like he enjoyed crafting so much – though he seems to have found a new passion in exploring to make up for it – good for him, I say! 🙂
        You sound like you have an infinite list about the same length as mine – which seems to grow on a daily basis lol 😉
        Talking of which…our conversation about mixing a potter’s wheel session with a psychic reading has spread far afield ;-D Roma of Craft Odyssey is thinking of planning one for her village ladies!!! Double LOL!!

        Like

      • LOL I just read the comments on your last post. Looks like we’ve started something. 😀 Do you have a link for Craft Odyssey? I couldn’t get the Mrs P link to work.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think we have LOL! This is yesterdays post link hope that works for you…;-)
        https://craftodyssey.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/do-you-wash/

        Like

      • The link worked – thanks. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I must add….he is already a brave man taking a patchwork butty/flask bag to work on a building site – so I thought it best to hide the knot!!! ;-D

        Like

      • It’s great that he appreciates your handiwork so much. I bet he loves the heart knot and the fact that you took the trouble to hide it for him. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • He’s been using it for quite some years, even though I suggested making a new one he insists this one is just fine – so you could be right!! 😉

        Like

      • Yes, he sounds quite attached to it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • He’s not so much a sentimental soul, but I do think he likes it a bit more than he would admit to ! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The first painting definitely had a 3D effect to me — it looked like a dome. Glad you got that artistic inspiration flowing again. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaah, interesting, thanks. A dome like you were looking up from the inside? The inspiration still isn’t flowing freely but at least it’s flowing enough to make progress on some old projects. 🙂

      Like

  4. Both. When I was focused on the knot it appeared as if I was looking from above the dome (like an inverted bowl). When I focused on the entire piece — the rays emanating outward gave the appearance I was under the dome looking up from inside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can see the second version much easier than the first. I had to strain a bit to see the inverted bowl, but now I see it. Thanks. 🙂

      Like

    • Yep, my first impression is an inverted bowl. In fact, I thought it was painted onto a dome, and had to magnify the image to see that it was just a trick of the paint. Also, the dark blue stripe next to the light blue stripe made me think that the bowl had been carved – in that case a gouge in a circle. Ha, ha, how much fun colours can be!

      Liked by 1 person

      • This is why I love sharing my art on here. You guys always see things that I haven’t noticed myself. I’ve mentioned before that I get to a point with my art that I can’t see the wood for the trees, so to speak. I find it hard to step back and see it with fresh eyes. Thanks for the feedback. 😀

        Like

  5. Love what you’ve done with it! The 3D copper knot is gorgeous, and so is the burgundy instead of orange. Not sure I like the shade of yellow that takes the place of the white. You seem to appreciate genuine feedback, so I hope you know that I’m trusting you to just read my comments and do whatever you like! I’d play with the yellow a little.

    Like

    • I felt there were too many colours in the original so I wanted to see what would happen if I swapped out the white. I agree with you though; I didn’t like the yellow in the blue bit.
      I do really like genuine feedback because, as I say, I reach a point where I can’t judge things for myself very well. I know it sounds a bit odd but that’s just the way it is. Sometimes I’m sure about things but when I’m not, I’m prepared to trust honest feedback.
      I like the original blue jazzy ring but I’m currently just working with the central part and the burgundy. I’ve nearly got something ready to post. The beauty of digital is that you can try different colour combinations really quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Who knew you could do such amazing things with leftover orange paint.

    Like

  7. You amaze me. You’re so talented. Whatever you do/decide will be beautiful, because your work is so detailed and well considered.

    Like

  8. After seeing the book of Kells in
    Ireland I became hooked on Celtic designs!
    Love your paintings. 💜

    Like

  1. Pingback: My Knot It Has Three Corners | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

