Croeso i Conwy (Welcome to Conway)

Recently I posted some photos from my trip back home to North Wales in 2013.  They were mostly pictures of Rhyl, a town that holds many childhood memories (like my first rollercoaster ride which I forgot to mention earlier).  Now I’d like to share some pictures of a another town from my childhood that is associated with memories of quite a different flavour.  Conwy is one of my favourite towns to visit, and I hope these photos will show you why.  The first few photos are of signs that explain some of the history behind the town.  Please click on one of them to enter the slideshow, and let me know if you have any trouble.

Posted on January 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. That was so much fun and so beautiful. Wonderful post. Really enjoyed it. I’ve never been in a castle and the tiny window with the pigeon was great. I loved all the roofs and street scenes. Just great. Thank you:)

    Like

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Castles were part of my childhood landscape, with their arrow slits, drawbridges and steep, stone spiral staircases. I’m so grateful for that. They’re wonderful places for the imagination (in peace-time anyway).

      Like

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass

    Im impressed! How do you pronounce the towns name. Ri- al?

    Like

  3. Thank you Sarah for prompting me back down memory lane again- Great pictures btw too!!! 😉 I do remember a few visits to Conwy, the third from last picture is a scene I definitely recall from when I was little. I thought it was quite funny….trying to get a sneaky close up of the fireman lol….or perhaps it was the fire engine really! 😉 A lovely post and a beautiful part of the country too!

    Like

  4. Great fun. I imagine it was difficult to heat those castles with cold winds whistling through.

    Like

    • Yes, as far as I can remember from my previous visits, most of the windows in the castle itself are unglazed arrow slits. When you go inside the castle ruins you can see fireplaces and chimneys set into the walls. They may also have had hearths in the middle of the floor but my memory is hazy. It’s been a long time since I’ve been inside the castle itself.

      Like

  5. Beautiful, beautiful! I am gasping in delight!

    Like

  6. What a magical place to grow up!

    Like

  7. Thank you for visiting my bog.
    訪問していただき有難うございました。

    Like

    • あなたのブログは好きです。^^
      私のブログを訪問していただきありがとうございました。
      Sorry for my clumsy Japanese. I have been trying to learn it for 2 years but it’s very difficult.^^

      Like

  8. I love that castle. You are so lucky to have been there 🙂

    Like

  9. Thank you for bringing me on your delightful trip. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

