Petrified Pomander

There is a long-running children’s TV programme in the U.K. called “Blue Peter“, maybe you’ve heard of it.  I grew up with it.  The presenters used to show us how to make lots of things, like accessories for dolls, Christmas decorations and treats for Mother’s Day.  I didn’t attempt very many of their projects but I did make their pomander as a present for my nanna.  It involved sticking a lot of cloves into an orange and decorating it with ribbon, etc.  My nanna had it hung in her hallway for a while and then it disappeared.  I assumed it had gone moldy and been thrown in the bin.  I think you know where this is going from the title, don’t you?  When we were clearing out my nanna’s house after she passed away we found the pomander in her wardrobe.  Bear in mind that I made this thing in the seventies and my nanna passed away in 2013…  The Wikipedia entry on pomanders says they last several years; they might want to revise that up a few decades!  I have to admit that it was a bit too freaky though so it did finally go in the bin.

pommandersml

Posted on January 25, 2015, in Craft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. It was the perfect sachet! And she treasured it and its fragrance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How sweet and how very much like a Nanna. Among my grandmother’s belongings, they found a pint canning jar where I had melted crayons and dripped all on the sides of the jar. Many had broken off during the years but it was among her treasures and held through the years, roses, daisies, leaves…..it was so touching to see how much she loved and treasured that jar, just like she loved and treasured me. And your nanna kept that pomander because it was from you to her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it was lovely to find all the little mementos she’d kept. So many stories in the drawers and cupboards. Things that wouldn’t mean anything to anyone else without those stories, like your crayon jar. God bless nannas.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh! But it looks so beautiful in it’s petrified state – I would have kept it for sure; but then I’m hopelessly sentimental.

    Like

    • Thanks Hariod. I was very tempted to keep it but I’ve been trying to limit my hoarding tendencies in recent years. I have lots of mementos from my nanna, in fact I’m wearing one right now. I wasn’t sure I could convince my husband that we also needed to make room for a thirty-odd-year-old orange!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I made many things from Valerie Singleton’s demonstrations but a pomander was not one of them. This was possibly because I didn’t think I could make one as good as the one my mother made and that stayed on the hall chest for years and years. Yours looks fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is very pretty. I love the smell of orange and cloves — was it still quite fragrant?

    Like

  6. wild retro
    natural craft 🙂

    Like

  7. Your nanna was lucky to have such a sensitive grand-child.. 🙂 eve

    Like

  8. How wonderful to be loved so much that she couldn’t part with your gift. Grandmother’s are so amazing and wonderful. I’m a weird grandmother but the kids seem to like me anyway:) LOL Sweet post.

    Like

  9. findingmyinnercourage

    Amen to God Bless Nannas! Beautiful!

    Like

  10. Oh, Wiki says it carries magic spell to ward off evil stuff. Interesting what we find when someone dies.

    Like

  11. Nooooo, you should have kept it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  12. This is the sweetest, most special story. Didn’t your heart just melt a little when you found it? Awwww. Thanks for sharing it with us. I think it’s still beautiful, even 50 years old.

    Like

  13. Aww how sweet that she kept it…you were precious to her 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I made mine in 70’s and still have it and yes it still smells. Love it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

