Powerful Article about/for Artists

http://techgnotic.deviantart.com/journal/You-May-Say-I-m-An-Artist-503741188

(Note: I didn’t write this article.Β  It’s by a DeviantArtist known as Techgnotic.)

Posted on January 3, 2015, in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Wonderful article! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Like

  2. Thank you Sarah, for sharing this thought-provoking and inspiring article!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Amazing article. I think what makes artists stand out is that most artists create with the purpose of sharing and uplifting or provoking change rather than seeking profit. That is not to say artists should not receive riches for their creation but it is not the purpose that most art is created. Artists create from their inner selves and that is why their art touches our souls.

    Like

  4. Thanks for re-blogging this great article, with it’s most interesting art work. I believe that if enough artists, writers, singers/bands hang together with the same message, and involve enough people there can be change. I think for instance that Woodstock and the movement around it did change society in many startling ways, but perhaps it is difficult to see these changes sometimes. The battle always is to reach enough people to make that difference.
    Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked it. πŸ™‚ I believe that art can make a difference too but, as you say, the difficulty is reaching enough people. Also, not preaching to the choir, so to speak, i.e. reaching new people.
      Blessings to you also; Happy New Year. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, it seems that when one can get a large lot of people motivated and involved, entrepreneurs and business people get involved, which often leads to the movements demise into some commercial venture. For instance over here there is an enormous movement to stop poaching,many poets, writers, painters and rock musicians are taking part in the campaign, the banks and various other businesses are now running the campaign which is slowly fizzling out, and more Rhino, Elephants and Lions than ever are being poached (well over 1000 rhino’s this year alone).

        Like

      • Oh wow, that’s very sad news. 😦 I’m sorry to hear that. It sounds like the profiteers are sucking the spirit out of the movement. I guess they see it as a win-win situation (there being profit to be made on both sides).
        Whereabouts are you, South Africa?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. I live in Cape Town in South Africa, a very troubled paradise. Wrote my first save the planet poem back in 1974, and can probably be trace back to Woodstock the event and the film!, it was called extinction.

        Like

      • You were at Woodstock? It would be great to have a global version of Woodstock, or maybe Burning Man, wouldn’t it?
        Did you put “Extinction” on your blog anywhere?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I live in Cape Town South Africa a very beautiful but troubled paradise. I did put the poem on my blog and here is a link to the poem. https://charles1958.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/extinction/ I was only 11 at the time of Woodstock, but saw the 3 Woodstock films 22 times, and have read lots of books about it. It was one of the major events of our time, and the film was one of the most important documentaries of our time. Charles.

        Like

      • Thank you for the link. πŸ™‚
        I know very little about Woodstock and I didn’t even know there were films. I will have to find out more about it. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

        Liked by 1 person

      • There are 3 films that I know about, there is the original film Woodstock, which came out in 1970, and which was made to as a counter to the very negative reporting of the event. It is the shortest of the films, running at about 2 and a half hours, in the mid 1980’s the directors cut came out, with a lot more footage, and with the changes taken out, but is about 4 hours in length, then recently the directors cut extended edition, which is about 8 and half hours. Enjoy watching, best wishes< Charles.

        Like

      • Thank you, I look forward to it.
        Best wishes to you too.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent project!

    Like

  6. Fantastic website and wonderful work.

    Like

  7. I appreciated the article and all the fabulous artwork displayed with it. This has always been a tough topic for me. As a person who is fascinated with the habits of people, I have seen that art touches people and can have positive effects. I used to think that was a superstitious hippie idea, but I’ve lived long enough now that I’ve come across many people who express that art changed them, and I believe them. The tough part is that art doesn’t affect me in that way. I can totally respond to art, but when there is a problem to be fixed, my natural inclination is to clear up all the paint and banners and the poetry and the damned music and holler, “let’s do something *real.*” ha ha. See what I’m trying to say?

    I have zero understanding of how artwork adds anything to making change for the better. HOWEVER, as I mentioned above, I firmly believe art DOES make a difference. So now I take the middle of the road, and believe that when it’s time for change, we need to preach at least two messages: 1) using art to touch the people, and 2) using spreadsheets, research findings, and cost benefit analysis… to touch the other people. Like me. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I know what you mean. The seeming frivolousness of art turned me away from the arts as a career when I was a teenager. Now I look at it like this. We all have different roles to play and it is our bliss (as defined by Joseph Campbell rather than the hedonists) that tells us what role we should be playing. Some of us are nerds and thinkers-of-deep-thoughts, and some of us are do-ers. Some of us are artists, some are activists and some are all of the above. The world needs us all. Who can judge the ultimate value of our contributions? All I know is, I would rather live in a world with artwork AND spreadsheets than without them. The more ways we have to touch people the better. Thank you for making me think. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

