Christmas Swag

swagsmlSally and I managed to squeeze in another crafting session before she heads off to the States.  She wanted to make a swag for the town crib.  We started with the same method as for the wreaths, making bundles of greenery (conifer, ivy, holly, etc.) cut from Sally’s shrubs and trees at the Mill.  We fastened the bundles with cable ties and then hung them on a piece of washing line.  We then fastened baubles and ribbons between each bundle and disguised the fastenings with beads and ribbons.  Sally will be adding a few little extras once the swag has been hung on the crib.

Posted on December 11, 2014, in Craft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I enjoy doing this artsy-craftsy stuff.

    Like

  2. Beautiful and I bet it smelled great too. Speaking of smelling great (without toxic chemicals) I love that 3 of your community posts at the moment are about being synthetic fragrance free. Enjoy the day. ❤

    Like

    • Fragrance is becoming a big concern for me now after reading MCS blogs for a while, and Christmas seems to be a time when the advertisers are really pushing things like perfume and scented candles. It’s really depressing that people aren’t getting the message. Even people I’ve tried to educate are still hooked on fragrance.
      As you guessed, the swag did smell great. Why can’t people appreciate natural smells like that?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful. You make it sound so easy.

    Like

    • It is easy! 🙂 I should’ve taken more photos and done a tutorial. Maybe next year. 🙂

      Like

      • Another blog post idea for you 🙂
        Artists have a great eye for things. You can look at something I know what to do with it.
        When I try to put things together, it looks like I just piled one thing on top of another and then someone like you can come along and move a couple of things and it looks beautiful. You have a talent. Thanks for sharing it.

        Like

      • Thank you. You’re very kind. 🙂 I’m sure you’d be better at it than you imagine. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful and I love that scent. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m back, Sarah. I`ve lost track of the people I used to follow. Merry Christmas.

    Like

  6. Ooh, what a great idea. But I’ll have to scope out gardens on my walks. I used to have a holly bush at my old house, but ouch!! I could find some pine in the woods. Another site I saw had made a wreath of thyme for the kitchen. I think I have plenty of thyme to do that. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so glad I’ve inspired you. Yup, holly fights back! But it’s worth it. It lasts for ages. The thyme sounds like a great idea. Rosemary might work well too.
      Please let me know if you get around to making something.

      Like

  7. I do love home made Xmas presents/decorations. Why do people buy those cheap horrible plastic items from China? i do not know. I have a deep dislike for plastic anyway and the stuff from China looks almost dangerous to me. There is so much more fun to be had by making small presents with our own time. I would much rather have a bunch of dried flowers of a home-made cake, then anything import. I guess what I am saying is “time” is the best gift of all. Don’t you agree. Well done Sarah.. Eve xxx

    Like

    • Thanks Eve, yes I agree, time is the best gift of all. Handmade gifts seem to me to be more in keeping with the spirit of Christmas than imported plastic goods. And as you pointed out, they can be fun to make as well. Thank you for your comment. ❤

      Like

  8. Wow, Sarah, how gorgeous! You are so talented–you inspire me! xo

    Like

    • That’s one of my hopes for this blog – to inspire – so thanks for your kind comment. You inspire me too; I wore my Santa hat out yesterday and the sky didn’t fall! Now I have much more confidence to wear it joyfully like you do. Thank you. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

