Yay for the Yaybahar

This instrument, invented by Istanbul-based musician Görkem Şen, can be played in a variety of ways.  In the hands of it’s inventor it makes complex, evocative sounds.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.  The view out of the window is quite nice too.  🙂

Posted on November 22, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. interesting sounds, oddly like whales under the surface of the ocean. I wonder if the instrument will ever enter into the world of rock and roll. smile. Eve

    Like

    • You’re right Eve, it _is_ a bit like whalesong. The only problem I can see with this instrument is that it takes up a lot of room. It wouldn’t be popular at your average rock-n-roll venue – they’d be tripping over it all the time. 🙂

      Like

      • where did you find out about such an unusual instrument? I have noticed you have a way of finding the most unusual items and bringing them to our attention. You could possibly one day have an Aladdin’s cave of your very own. 🙂 Eve

        Like

      • Well, it’s rather boring this time but it was in one of the regular emails I get from YouTube. Their selections are based on things that I’ve looked at in the past.
        I’d love to have an Aladdin’s cave! 😀 How about you?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So unusual. Interesting sound, that’s for sure.

    Like

  3. Amazing! Love the sound and have sent your link to my son, the violinist, I’m sure he will enjoy it too 🙂

    Like

    • Yay, I hope he likes it. 🙂 How was the concert?

      Like

      • I’ll let you know what he thinks of the Yaybahar as soon as I hear back from him 😉
        The concert was simply amazing!!! I’m so pleased we all travelled down for it and it was lovely to have all the family together again for a couple of days

        Like

      • I’m so glad for you. It must be great to have a musician in the family. We all like to dabble but none of us is talented enough to perform. My aunt in London used to play concert piano but I never got to see her play in public.

        Like

      • Thanks Sarah, I’ve got to admit it is lovely to have music in the house and I do miss it a lot since George went to the Conservatoire, After all his dedication over the years it is wonderful to see him perform at this level now not only as a Soloist but also as part of such a wonderful Orchestra

        Like

  4. It rather depressed me listening to it straight, so to speak. It would make an amazing soundtrack, though, to a thriller set in the Middle Ages!

    Like

  5. Never in my life have I heard of or seen this instrument. It’s fascinating! I think I want one.

    Like

  6. there’s some cello married to a chainsaw there — but very useful in modern music

    Like

Leave a Reply

