Duck and Cover

The violent-retaliation camp are firmly dug into their trenches.  My “chain of violence” idea didn’t make it beyond no-man’s land.  So here’s my next salvo, courtesy of a man who is better with these word thingies than I:

The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral

begetting the very thing it seeks to destroy, instead of diminishing evil, it multiplies it.

Through violence you may murder the liar, but you cannot murder the lie, nor establish the truth.

Through violence you may murder the hater, but you do not murder hate. In fact, violence merely increases hate.

Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.

Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

I expect this to be as effective as a chocolate teapot but I’m posting it anyway, so there.  🙂  I’m ready, head between legs, kissing my ass goodbye…

Posted on October 10, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. By name of your blog I am sure you would enjoy Jack’s Whyte’s Camulod Chronicles series. (Post Roman Britain-Arthurian legends). Best historical fiction I’ve ever read except for book AZTEC. Important to read series in order.

    Like

  2. Gary Jennings. Narrated by old Aztec as being told to priest/scribes and they send reports nature of Aztec world back to king in Spain. Early 1500’s. What impressed me most was reading about the daily basic mundane routines of the people. It left me with “how in the world can this guy know this stuff?” He must have had a time machine or lived during that time. See my review on Amazonbooks.

    Like

  3. Sarah, every quote is connected with time and space. Do you support this quote:
    “The one who is unwilling to work shall not eat.”? It is from the Bible and also from Lenin and the Constitution of the Soviet Union.

    Like

  4. I saw a program on plans, trees, and flowers. They are constantly at war with each other. They kill and poison each other, fighting for space, light and nutrients. No matter where you look, beings are fighting to exist. That woke me up. Vines strangle trees and other plants. Others poison the ground so that nothing else can grow where they live, and on and on it goes. Flowers/plants actually release chemicals into the air that attack other flowers and plants. I’ve come to realize that, THAT is what life on this plane IS. I don’t like it anymore than you do, believe me, but if flowers are fighting…. Everything seems to be at war…ALL THE TIME. There isn’t a single thing on the planet who/that isn’t fighting. Insects, birds, animals (including us) plants, fish, etc., never ends…never. I do not think peace is possible, as a blanket statement. I think the threat of violence keeps the bits of peace we have, in place. Laws, police, armed forces are, apparently, what keeps us as peaceful as we can hope to be. Cavepeople fought an killed each other. History is one looooong war. We have absolutely NOTHING that even implies that peace could possibly exist. There is nothing in our past that suggests that it ever existed ANYWHERE. So, I’m not all that hopeful.

    Like

    • Nature is certainly red in tooth and claw. There is also evidence of plenty of cooperative behaviour too though. For example, some plants give off a chemical when they are being eaten by bugs that warns the neighbouring plants to up their defences, It depends on your perspective. Programme writers want to sensationalize things and if they shock you all the better.
      My hope for humanity rests on 3 things: that we are social animals, that we have powerful brains and that we haven’t had a fair whack yet. The dinosaurs were given 180 million years to get their act together!
      And, with reference to your wired-for-chaos brain, I don’t think you have to worry about peace being boring. I think we can rely on humanity to create lots of problems for itself that don’t involve war and violence. 🙂 We won’t have to lose our creativity and passion to be non-violent. Please don’t lose hope Gigi… ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree. We live in a dichotomy…I do hope for peace, in spite of the way things seem to be. Two sides of the coin. I think we’ve seen one side a little too long and need to flip it over to see what happens. I love that…the dinosaurs had 180 million years… and what did they do with them? LOL Ate, slept, hid from each other and had baby dinosaurs. 🙂 Okay, supposedly they roamed the earth, while we seem to have covered it. They just kind of hung out, having smaller brains and things (tiny arms on the T-Rexs so they could play the piano, right?) Sigh.

        It will all work itself out. The only thing we can do is be the best we can be…kind, considerate, mannerly and non violent. But I have to tell you Sarah, I could be violent if anyone tried to hurt anyone I loved. I know that about myself. I will always stand and fight. It’s just who I am. I think anyone would fight to protect their kids and the people/animals they love. Or their country. It’s expanding that love to others that would make the difference and I don’t see that happening.

        There so much hatred out there. I’ve seen it first hand. I’m a peaceful protester, not necessarily a quiet one, but peaceful enough. 🙂 But a lot of people are just filled with hatred and rage. Their faces are faces of hate…screaming, spit flying out of their mouths, Insanity. I just stand there, quietly. There’s no talking to people like that. I just become still because there is nothing you can do in the face of hatred. It’s as if there is some awful thing inside the person…they stop looking like a person, snarling and raising their fists, just screaming. Some of them just glare, their bodies tense, hate coming from their eyes. We all just stand together. I don’t feel anything but peace in front of them. I’m not afraid, it’s like something turns off and I just watch them. They even used their children as shields sometimes. They seem alien/other. As if their humanity slipped off and left this thing in it’s place. And it was taught to them. Handed down from one person to another, generation to generation, without reason. Children taught to hate, growing up hating. Really sad.

        Debbie and I have demonstrated for Animal Rights, Women’s Rights, Racial Equality, Gay and Lesbian Rights, political campaigns, and a lot of other things that bring out the worst in people. We have marched all over the place, including Washington. We work with groups and try to make a difference. But the groups and issues we work on make people angry. They like the status quo. They don’t see freedom as being for everyone, just for them. We have seen people tackled in the street, we have been arrested. We don’t do that anymore, at least the in the street part. I would but I got burned out. You can only keep that level of tension going for so many years and we handed it off to the new kids:) We took it from those who went before us and we followed their lead. I think that’s what life on earth is all about…just waiting to see what happens next.

        Like

      • Thanks goodness for people like you and your daughter. Thank you for standing up and being noisy. It’s essential to spread the message and pass it on to the next generation.
        As Colleen says below, the hatred and anger stems ultimately from fear. As you said, people like the status quo; they are fearful of anything that threatens it. When people are frightened and backed into a corner they will fight like any animal. How can we tackle that fear? Education and repeated, gentle exposure to the thing that causes fear? If people are exposed to alternative ways of thinking/being, they might eventually realise that the sky isn’t going to fall on them. Maybe? As I said, we have a few million years to make it happen. 😀

        Like

  5. “The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral begetting the very thing it seeks to destroy, instead of diminishing evil, it multiplies it.”

    So true.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The eloquence of Martin Luther King Jr. gives me chills. Your chocolate teapot cracks me up. The end to violence will come when the filter we use to examine the situation is love rather than fear.

    Like

  7. Thank you for posting this, Sarah. Unless I’m missing something, I don’t know if Duck and Cover is the best title for this, though it is funny- I vaguely remember the old bomb drills in kindergarten when we hid under our desks. What I’m getting to is that you aren’t hiding. You are standing up for peace, and doing a good job at it,

    Like

  8. Sarah, from Your comments I see that You can WRITE posts very well. And I wish You would.

    About this post: It all comes down to our definitions of violence and peace.

    Suppose We have a serial killer. There are enough of them! Putting a person like that in jail is also Violence! We forget that.

    If that is allowed, then We see that Violence does have its place in our life. But What We Need are Wise and Cool Heads.

    Love and Regards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

