Evolution of the Horse

I’m currently re-working another old piece.  Here it is from my teenage/young adult years:

teenagehorse
The red version is my one and only attempt at lino printing. I like the design a lot but my adult self felt the need to have more realistic proportions. Here is how I ruined the design with correct proportions:
proportion
Here is the design without the ugly neck:
newhead
You might recognise the next incarnation:
purplepony
And here is the digital version in progress:

PPonyProgressSmall

Posted on September 18, 2014, in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I’m thinking maybe we have a language difference for the word “ruined”. I loved both horses in different ways. I love fantasy stories and their creatures and I love nature and her creatures. Here you have represented the beauty of both. ❤

    Like

  2. No ruined! They are both gorgeous!!!

    Like

  3. You are so very, very talented. These are amazing.

    Like

  4. They are all excellent – the finished last one looks like he is off proudly to a jousting contest (or whatever knights do…) 🙂

    Like

  5. Just wonderful – both of them – love the action in them 🙂

    Like

  6. Had problem trying to sign up in your gallery. I liked the light blue DREAM one. I know how much time and effort you put into that one’s creation.

    Like

    • Thanks Carl. 🙂 I’m sorry you had a problem. Was that in deviantART?
      I did put a lot of time and effort in but I enjoyed it. You must have put a lot into the Dia de Muertos piece that I just saw too. It’s fun to create, isn’t it?

      Like

  7. I enjoy the patterns very much. Especially being confined in regions that create a horse. In the digital version, how do you make the patterns. Tools, techniques, etc. If you’ve explained this before, feel free to link to the post.

    Like

    • Thanks Kevin. 🙂
      I’m very much a beginner when it comes to digital art. I’m using a Photoshop-type product called Manga Studio on a recently-acquired tablet called a Cintiq Companion. (The money I saved on the former helped me to afford the latter.) If you click on the Manga Studio tag in the right-hand column of my blog that should show you all my posts with that tag e.g. https://anglosaxonceltcreates.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/introducing-manga-studio-5/
      I like my digital art to look hand-drawn so I try not to use too many of the graphics design tools like rulers and grids. To create the patterns I mostly work very zoomed in. If the pattern needs to look fairly regular I might create a separate layer with a hand-drawn grid on it, just to get it roughly right. On some of the patterns I have used copy and paste to duplicate the basic pattern motif. I try not to do this too much though because it can make the pattern lose its vitality. Manga Studio has a slick way to create patterns from a motif which I’ve used in the past but, as I said, I’ve been trying to keep the recent stuff looking hand-drawn.
      Thanks for the question. 🙂 Feel free to ask more.

      Like

  8. Cool. I had not heard of Manga Studio. Before I began drawing on an iPad I though I might try digital art on my PC. I got a Wacom Bamboo tablet for Christmas and I searched for free graphics software. For interested readers I came across krita.org and paint.net, both worth a look. Unfortunately, they are going unused.

    I love using a touchscreen tablet. I too like the hand drawn look, which I get from making illustrations on my iPad using just my finger.

    It’s nice to be able to add color and effects with digital tools despite which hardware/software you have, though.

    Like

    • I progressed from mouse to Bamboo tablet but I wasn’t very comfortable with the disconnection between the nib and the image. It got better over time but it was still off-putting. The Cintiq Companion (also made by Wacom btw), like the iPad, solves that problem.
      I was so impressed that you create with your finger rather than a stylus. I can understand why you prefer it.
      Manga Studio is a lot cheaper than Photoshop but it still has a LOT of features. The main problem is that there aren’t a lot of English-language tutorials and other resources like there are for Photoshop users.
      Sorry if this doesn’t make much sense; I’m tired. 🙂

      Like

  9. Looking great! The magic of digital! It still requires the vision and skill but the choices are absolutely endless.

    Like

    • Thanks Elena. I love digital because I can experiment more easily; keeping the elements I like and ditching parts that don’t work. Sorry I haven’t been over to your blog in a while. I love your latest paintings. I’d love to experiment with real paints but digital will have to do for now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

