Old Cells and Orchids

I finished this piece ages ago but I fell out with it so I didn’t put it on my blog.  I wasn’t very happy with the colour for a start.  I preferred it when it was just black and white.  Then I compounded the problem by putting it in an unsuitable frame.  I gave up on it just now and took it out of the frame.  It was a relief, and, without the frame, the piece doesn’t look so bad.  I’ve still put it away though.

cellsAnd here are some photos of simple and effortless beauty to balance things out.

I was given an orchid plant for Mother’s Day and it’s just come into bloom again. I’m so pleased – just look at all those buds waiting to open. (You can click on the photos to see them enlarged.)

Posted on September 16, 2014, in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Fabulous composition of colours, Sarah

    Like

    • Thanks Ina! I thought it was a bit overpowering but I’m a wimp when it comes to colour. I’m glad you like it.

      Like

      • Know what you mean, Sarah, choosing colours in art does tend to make one somewhat “nervous” but you made the composition splendidly 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you Ina, I really appreciate that. 🙂 When I was growing up I was always drawing in pencil but I rarely used colour. I find it very tricky.

        Like

      • Ah, but overcoming the tricky is what builds skill…colours are the factor that makes us pause and think whether it’s right, whether its bold, whether it’ll create harmony we want…all those doubts just because they are colours…go with your flow, Sarah, you seem to have an inner sense of beauty, balance and harmony – I can see that from your art…hugs!

        Like

      • Oh thank you Ina! 😀 You’re very kind. {hugs}

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awfully pretty flowers! 🙂 Lovely mod doodles!

    Like

  3. It’s a bit like a paisley design – very nice 🙂

    Like

  4. I love your “Paramecium Piece”. In black and white it would be texturally interesting but the color literally brings it to life. You know me an “seeing” things but it looks to me like a vibrant happy family of single-celled critters. I never thought of a paramecium or amoeba or bacteria as having feelings before. I like that thought. ❤ The flowers gorgeous. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Like

  5. You are right, my Dear Sarah, that the effortless beauty of Nature is, um, Beautiful! But really, I like this Your Piece quite a Lot. It does look Good. Kudos. 🙂

    Like

  6. Absolutely beautiful. Wow!

    Like

  7. findingmyinnercourage

    Wow, absolutely gorgeous!

    Like

  8. I’m liking this a lot, love the colours and patterns…. yes a funky psychedelic amoeba methinks.

    Like

  9. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    LOOK AT THESE!!!!

    Like

  10. Love your very original and creative work
    Thank you very much for following. Eddie

    Like

  11. I love paisley design! It is one of my favorites! I love these color together with the orchids. I usually don’t have time to explore blogs but I had yours top on my list so I could see what you are up to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

