Dream in Colour

I’ve been experimenting with colour on my latest drawing.  Thanks to advice from Sarah Vernon I’ve used photocopies rather than ruining the original.  Here are some of the results:

colour1 colour2 colour3 colour4 colour5 colour6 colour7The only one that works for me is the one that isn’t actually in colour.  On that one I just filled in the “sky” with pencil.  So, I think I’m going to leave the picture in black and white.  When I feel brave enough I’m going to fill the sky in with pen.  I’ll try a texture first and if that doesn’t work I’ll just black it all in.  What do you think?

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. Whatever you decide next, it will be amazing. The black sky idea has my vote.

    Like

  2. Oh gosh…erm…I like the bottom one but I’m very taken with the dark blue sky in the other! Thanks for the ‘shout’.

    Like

    • Just giving credit where credit is due. 🙂 I’m interested to hear that you like some of the coloured versions. I was hoping that everyone would agree with me, LOL, and make the decision easy. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your patterns are very nice, Sarah. But, if You are going to use colour, could You not use brighter ones?

    From:

    Old Fashioned!

    Like

  4. You’ll probably get as many different opinions as visitors. Go with your gut instinct. 🙂

    Like

  5. yeseventhistoowillpass

    I’m total awe struck by the fine detail.

    Like

  6. I have to admit I didn’t think I would like color but I LOVE the vibrant blue in the first ones. It feels like a Wizard of Oz dream where they start black and white and she pops out into a the amazing color in The Land of Oz. ❤

    Like

  7. It seems like an all black and white room that has one beautiful blue vase. The blue makes everything else pop but if you put the same vase in an all blue room it wouldn’t be noticed. It would be boring. Does that make sense?

    Like

  8. I hope whatever you decide to do — it brings you joy. If it does then I believe the piece will always hold onto that joy and we will feel it too.

    Like

    • That makes a lot of sense Colleen, thanks. ❤
      Having people respond to my art brings me joy so I'm already loving this piece. I will be digesting everybody's responses and seeing how I feel when I've slept on it for a bit.

      Like

  9. WHOOOOOOOOA—- THAT IS AWESOME SARAH!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE IT!!!!

    Like

  10. your artwork is like a meditation, rather like the painting of Buddhist mandala – keeps the mind still. nice work. eve

    Like

  11. The blue on the first photos is fantastic. What a knockout. Really beautiful, rich and wonderful. Great job. Can’t wait to see the finished work:)

    Like

  12. I like the way it is, in my opinion. Good job, Sarah. How long did this one take you to complete?

    Like

    • Thanks Perpetua. I don’t really know how long it took. I’m not very good at keeping track of that kind of thing. Quite a long time anyway. I started it about the same time I set up my Pinterest account which was about 2 weeks ago.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Wow! Amazing work! I’m very impressed!

    Like

  14. The bottom one works. But the black and white works well too! 🙂

    Like

  15. It looks amazing the way it is; follow your instincts

    Like

  16. findingmyinnercourage

    I wish I wish I wish I knew how to do this. Your drawing takes my breath away, I LOVE it!

    Like

    • Oh thank you. I’m really glad you like it.
      I wish I could teach you how to do it but I don’t really know how I do it. I’ve always drawn. It just happens. 🙂 However, I think most people have the ability to draw if they are taught in a way that speaks to them. Have you tried books like “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” or “Drawing with Children” by Mona Brookes (it’s not just for children btw)?

      Like

      • findingmyinnercourage

        I have not but will be ordering your book suggestions today. I think it would be good mental therapy for me. One more thing to add to my list of things I can do while resting in bed!

        Like

      • Gosh, I hope you like them! 🙂 Drawing is very therapeutic and relaxing, I find. I hope you enjoy it. I look forward to hearing how you get on.

        Like

      • findingmyinnercourage

        I’m sure I could find somewhere in your Blog what kind of writing utensils you use, but would you mind sharing? I’ve put much thought into this and in a journal I would have to use something that wouldn’t go through to the other side. Any tips from the artist herself? 😊

        Like

      • Hmmm. My first thought was buy a journal with thicker paper! The kind of materials I use (Staedler technical pens and watercolour pencils mainly) would soak through thin paper so you would have a problem journaling with them. Also, if you want to use watercolours, they can crinkle thinner paper and make a mess of it. One possible solution would be to start your journal pages with collage (i.e. glue/paste scraps of photo/magazine/wallpaper/fabric/etc onto the pages) then draw over the top of those. I haven’t tried it myself but it might work to thicken up the pages and collage is fun. My advice would be to do a journal plus have a separate pad for trying out things from your new books. That way you aren’t restricted from using a decent black drawing pen – I use Staedler but Sharpies seem popular with doodlers at the moment. I seem to be giving my advice in reverse order because now I want to recommend that you start with pencil for your drawing practice – particularly “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain”. It depends on what kind of effect you want to achieve really. I could go on and on now that you’ve got me started! If you have more questions maybe we should do it via email? What do you think?

        Like

      • P.S. In case you want to get really specific, I used 0.05mm and 0.3mm Staedler pens and an ordinary (so probably HB) propelling/mechanical pencil for this piece. The reason I use these pens is because they don’t run if you use them with watercolours and they are fade-resistant.

        Like

      • P.P.S. (Am I ever going to shut up?) I used watercolour pencils for trying out the colour but I didn’t add water because I didn’t want to mess the photocopy paper up. Water intensifies the colour of watercolour pencils. The intense blue colour is from an old felt-tip pen from my childhood. I’m amazed that it hasn’t run out or dried up yet. It’s a magical pen!

        Like

  17. What’s the cat called?

    Like

  18. I’d dream in color but the Sandman charges extra for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

