Dream in Black and White

Here is the larger drawing that I’ve been working on.  I’m showing it to you before I add the colour because I don’t know whether I’m going to improve it or ruin it.  Someone described this piece as “busy”.  I think that might be an understatement!

dreamBW

Posted on August 24, 2014, in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Rather a glorious three (possibly four) dimensional drawing there Sarah.

    Like

  2. That is fantastically cool! A phantasmagoria!
    I like the way you laid the quote to rest.
    A cute way of keeping it “real”.

    Cheerz, Uncle Tree 🙂

    Like

  3. It shall take me time to absorb all the nuances but I LOVE it. ❤ As far as color — that is of course up to the artist's vision. I love the b & w and artistically color may put the "busy" aspect over the top. However, I always dream in color and dreams ARE over the top — so I guess I'm no help on that quandary. 😀 The kitty is my favorite. (No surprise there.)

    Like

    • I wondered if anyone would spot Tiger. I should have known it would be the sharp eyes of Colleen!
      I’m so glad you like it. I’m not planning to add much colour. I think that colouring the background at the top will help tie those elements together somehow. 🙂

      Like

  4. Very delicate illustrations Art〜love it
    Good day^^ dear Sarah ♠︎

    Like

  5. I’m usually the first person to say keep something in black & white. However, I actually think the business would calm down in colour, depending on how many colours you use. Photocopy and experiment so you don’t ruin the original. That’s my tuppenny-ha’penny-worth!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes Sarah, good advice above! I love this as it is in black and white. I’m sure you’ll enjoy experimenting with it. Superb dedication. 🙂

    Like

  7. That’s always the scary part, isn’t it? To leave it alone or forge ahead. It’s so very beautiful the way it is, but I’m sure it would be beautiful with color as well. Difficult decision.

    Like

    • Yes, one of the big skills – to know when to stop. I haven’t mastered it yet. 🙂 Thanks to the earlier advice I’ve had a go on a photocopy and parts of it look good but others are a disaster. So glad I didn’t do it on the original.

      Like

  8. The detail is incredible. I’ve been looking at it again. And the wee one in the “D” is wonderful. So much work, so much detail. Fabulous job.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Awesome, Sarah! Love your work! 🙂

    Like

  10. Hi Sarah, thanks for all the attention you gave to artcalling, and for posting some of the images to my pages here.
    Lovely blog, by the way, nice to ‘meet’ you. I also relate to the ‘award free blog’ icon. Good one.
    My mother-in-law has a new hobby of colouring very detailed colouring book images for adults and is loving it. She finds it very relaxing. Your pattern sketches and the one on this page look perfect for that kind of product, if you are into thinking that way. Or you could sell downloads of one page at a time, small poster size.

    Great that you are finding your own way into the Celtic designs. If you keep developing your art according to your passions, a unique interpretation or application of the knotwork will probably just emerge naturally. regards,
    Sarah

    Like

    • Hi Sarah, thanks for stopping by. I was very glad to stumble upon your blogs. I like your “art is a gift, not a commodity” philosophy very much. I look forward to seeing more of your creations.
      Adult colouring? Interesting idea. I’d never have thought of that. Thank you.
      😀

      Like

  11. Very nice, Sarah. I’m partial to B&W… it often allows people to add color in their own minds. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is perfect without the colours. You have talent, Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Looks Great, Sarah! And speaks to the mind.

    Like

  14. Beautifully done. I’m a fan.

    Like

  15. I love this piece, beautifully crafted, and the words say it all. Thank you for following my blog and liking of my posts.

    Like

  16. I love it! Your talent is amazing

    Like

Leave a Reply

