Currants and Kittens

After the bird raids last year I decided to put netting over my redcurrants.  This is a photo of the pickings off just one bush this year:

redcurrantsThe robins and thrushes have still managed to peck out quite a few through the netting (clever birdies) but I have a lot more than I did last year.

There’s been quite a lot of chaos in my house over the last week so I’d like to tell you about a little visitor who’s helping me to cope.  He arrived about two weeks ago.  One of the local feral tomcats that we feed brought him over.  I can’t believe how patient the tomcat is with this little ball of energy.  This is the best photo I managed to get on arrival day.

piggybackI took some more photos today (click one if you want to see them bigger).  We called the kitten Tiger because he is the bravest, fiercest kitten that has turned up here (and we’ve had quite a few).

How could he fail to cheer me up?  He’s a cutie, doncha think?

[Update] I just realised that I left out the connection between currants and kitten, d’oh.  When I went out earlier to pick currants I put the bowl down on the grass, lifted the net, turned back and found a kitten in the bowl!  Little scamp.

Posted on July 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Super adorable. A friend has (besides her two dogs and two cats) four kittens who have taken up residence in her garage. I was leaving the other day and she invited me to help feed them. I ran for my car. She (devious friend that she is) knew if I saw them I couldn’t) resist taking one home. 😀

    Like

    • I don’t know why but my first reply got lost. I think this is what it said:
      Kittens are certainly hard to resist. I wonder how Loki and Nox would react?

      Like

      • Tough to tell. Animals will often respond very differently to a baby then when an adult is introduced into their territory. My brother brought his cat over. Loki thought is was great. Being blind I don’t know if she even knew he was there but she did thoroughly enjoy eating ALL the food I put out for the three cats. Nox who is always so gentle and kind hissed for the very first time right in his face. It even seemed to shock her. You’ll have to bring Tiger over for a visit and we’ll see. 😀

        Like

      • That’s so funny. Poor old Nox.
        I think I might have trouble smuggling Tiger through customs. He’d have a great time in your garden though. It would be hard for Loki to not know that Tiger was around. He seems to be able to be in two places at once. Darn, I just realised that I forgot the connection between the currants and the kitten. I’m going to edit the post now.

        Like

  2. Tiger is soooooooo cute!!! Hugs from me! The redcurrants look yummy too! Enjoy!

    Like

  3. I love him, what a precious baby!

    Like

  4. Ah! Tiger is as impressive as cute 🙂 🙂 thank you for sharing Sarah!

    Like

  5. Redcurrants and kitten. A fine combination.

    Like

  6. A cute kitten and a currant bush that produces currants. What more could you want?

    Like

  7. That is the most adorable kitten. Just darling:) The currants look good too (but not as good as the kitten…nothing can look as good as a kitten…nothing…ever).

    Like

  8. What a mischievous little Tiger he is. Oh so much joy!

    Like

  9. I love Cats and Kittens, but this one is Really Sweet! …Am a little surprised that a Tom brought the kitten over! Very Happy about it, though.

    Like

    • Yes, we’re surprised about that too. It’s not the first time it’s happened though. A few years ago a different tomcat brought over a little girl kitten who we called Hermione. I wonder if this is just a local behaviour or if people have seen this in other parts of the world?

      Like

  10. Kudos on Your garden, though this is the second time I am seeing it. Garden and Kitten, what more could You want? 🙂

    Like

  11. AWESOME!!!! THANKS FOR SHARING!!!! WE HAVE BIRDS & DOGS– CAN’T HAVE KITTENS!!! 🙂 BUT TOOOOOO CUTE!!!

    Like

  12. Those currants look delicious. and that kitten…how adorable. Few things are cuter than a fierce kitten.

    Like

  13. What little sweeties, both the currents but mostly the kitten;)

    Like

  14. He looks like the kitten who jumped in our window well – twice. We brought her in and called her Kommando Kitty. Hope things have calmed down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

