Dhamma Cartoon

As I mentioned in the previous post, I recently met a Buddhist monk called Ajahn Kalyano.  The Ajahn is the first Buddhist teacher that I’ve come across who uses art in his dhamma talks.  If you’ve been following this blog for a while you’ll probably have realised that I prefer plenty of pictures with my words, so I like the idea of illustrated dhamma talks.  The Ajahn has kindly given me permission to share a “cartoon” that he created recently (see below).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you notice the spirals?  It turns out that the Ajahn has just become interested in Celtic art.  He wants to incorporate Celtic knots into artwork for a book of his talks.  So that was a serendipitous meeting, wasn’t it?  I was able to help him a little with the designs for inside the book, and I’ve sent him copies of my knotwork dhamma wheel, which may be suitable for the cover.

[Update 30/09/14: I’m told that the Ajahn’s book “The Thread” will be available for download from http://www.alokabodhi.org.uk/ soon.]

Posted on June 19, 2014, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. yeseventhistoowillpass

    Wow! You’re back and you are posting! Great!!!

    Like

  2. Very peaceful. The one with the five stars and the boat seemed to have a lot of layers. I don’t know if it was by design (although I guess all things are by divine design) that there were faces visible amongst the stars. Glad to see you’re letting your creativity dictate your posts rather than a sense of obligation to please others. I feel your peace all the way across the “pond”. 😀

    Like

    • I noticed the layers but not the faces. I can always rely on you to see deeper into the art than I can. Thank you. 🙂
      I can also rely on you to read my heart. ❤ I was starting to let the blog drive my art rather than the other way round. It didn't feel right. I'm waiting for it to feel right again. 🙂

      Like

      • From clockwise the second star I see as (facing me) that the star is the right eye and the lighter bit is the other eye, a darker bit of pink is part of the nose, with a fuller in the middle but closed mouth — the face is heart-shaped but only 2/3 is visible on the left side. The second face is on the right side of the drawing. The 4th star appears to be inside the mouth surrounded by a bit of darker pink, the nose above that and one eye at the top of the page.The 5th star appears to be in the location of the throat chakra on a long neck. Does anybody else see this?

        Like

      • I tried very hard but I can’t see the face on the left. I can see what you’re describing on the right but for me there is a face in profile that is more prominent.
        This reminds me of something from childhood. My dad had an album called Long Distance Voyager by the Moody Blues. The artwork had lots of little hidden details and I spent a lot of time trying to find them. Did you ever see it?

        Like

  3. I love what a picture can tell. Thanks for keeping on posting sometimes….

    Like

  4. Wow! These are super cool! Mystical, makes me feel lost in water in the most pleasant way possible

    Like

  5. Wow, the influence of an Irish meeting a Monk. I enjoyed looking at his art work and I am glad you are of help to him.

    Like

  6. It’s beautiful and meaningful Sarah! It makes me think of “the little Prince”, by Saint Exupéry, I don’t know why! Have a nice day.

    Like

  7. These are charming and would be beautiful in a children’s book!

    Like

  8. Thanks for the post, looking forward to more from you!! Lovely artworks, and the concept is inspiring!

    Like

  9. Well done – spread your work and Celtic influence cross-cultures; very worthwhile, Sarah 🙂

    Like

  10. Sounds like some good Celtic karma.

    Like

  11. You are perfect for the job:) Lovely little video.

    Like

  12. nice cartoon. I too think photos or images help with writing and especially on blogs. Sometimes images speak volumes, and well, they are eye catching and keep one focused.. eve

    Like

    • Thanks Eve. I don’t mind reading novels without pictures but I definitely find non-fiction and blog posts easier to read when they are illustrated. Pictures add something to the experience, don’t they?

      Like

      • yes, due to reading on line can be hard for some people. It is for me.. I can only read short pieces at a time..

        I think the reason why photography blogs are more popular.. eve

        Like

      • Yes, I have a hard time reading longer blog posts. You’re probably right about the photography blogs. 🙂 This format is perfect for sharing photos.

        Like

  1. Pingback: Happy Uposatha – Purifying Sila | Cattāri Brahmavihārā

Leave a Reply

