Tree Mandala

Inspired by Matt Ridgway’s mandalas on deviantART.

treecircle

Posted on April 21, 2014, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 63 Comments.

  1. Super-cool! πŸ™‚ Like a magnet!

    Like

  2. Wow, that’s amazing!

    Like

  3. Awesome Sarah. Happy Easter. I’m still looking for how to create a Sacred Geometry. Have you heard of this?

    Like

  4. The intricacy is amazing. What is the medium? πŸ˜€ How long did it take you to make this? I thought I was industrious slogging through the mud to get a few photos today — I’m humbled now. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen. πŸ˜€
      For this particular one I used my Staedtler 0.1 pigment liner. I love these pens, I use them a lot.
      I don’t tend to keep track of how long I’m spending on a drawing. I started it a few days ago. Sometimes I’d spend a few hours on it, sometimes only a few minutes. I like this kind of art because it doesn’t matter too much if you get interrupted, unlike painting.

      Like

      • That’s crazy cool. I thought you were going to say it took years. It’s amazing you can draw that much detail in such a short time. πŸ˜€

        Like

      • Thanks, that’s funny. πŸ™‚ The drawings I’ve been doing recently have been much quicker than my usual stuff because I don’t do any planning. I just draw the next thing that pops into my head. When I started this one I had no idea there were going to be trees in it. They’re also quicker because I just use one pen and, in this case, no colour.
        I’m sorry to say I actually got bored of drawing the trees, that’s why they don’t go all the way round. I think it might have looked better if they had but I can’t change it now. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • When I look at it I see it meticulously planned. I love that you did the trees on the “top” and the roots on the bottom. The “layer” just outside of that is as if they are the branches connecting the earth trees to heaven and being all the same all the way around is like the spiritual world — all one. The symbols on the outside — appears to be acorn with a Celtic flare. With them on the very outside of the circle of life — it as if they were a gift from the heavens. All of the life of a tree contained in the one seed. And then the leaves in the center of the hub adding their nutrients back to the soil. πŸ˜€ That’s what I saw. If you did all that without planning — I’d throw away any plan books you have — you are definitely in touch with the flow of life. Drift on …:D

        Like

      • I love the way you interpret my art. You always see things that I didn’t see myself. It’s very rewarding for me to hear how you experience it. Thank you. πŸ˜€
        I’m definitely a conduit when I do these drawings. I’m never sat there stuck for the next thing to draw, it all just comes to me quite naturally. Amazing really. I’m very grateful.
        Now, words, that’s a different matter, LOL!

        Like

  5. It’s amazing. I would like to put the image to cups & saucers. It would be very happy to have a cup of tea with such a cup and saucer. I can imagine happy afternoon with the saucer printed your Mandara.

    Like

  6. Just Beautiful. Realllly beautiful.

    Like

  7. Thanks Sarah, and your mandala artwork is fantastic!

    Like

  8. I don’t use this word lightly, but I’ll say it now-amazing! REally wonderful work!

    Like

  9. Love the balance between branches and roots.

    Like

  10. This is really great – I love how intricate it is. Celeste πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. I would definitely buy Nyatto’s cups and saucers with your artwork on them. Teatime would just have got even better.

    Like

  12. You are one talented young woman! Keep up the beautiful works of art…

    Like

  13. It is a wonderful thing, Sarah! Thank you for sharing with us. πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. I love this! I did a little playing around with sacred geometry years ago. I decided to go with a rose window design. I love working round with my fabric art and it was an interesting project. I found a website that talked about rose window including symbolism and how to design them but I don’t remember the where I found it.

    Like

    • That sounds really interesting. Was it applique, embroidery, machine-sewing, hand-sewing… Do you have a picture?

      Like

      • It’s called Rose of Sharon. I used photos printed to fabric. All my work is by hand. Photo here. http://rogenerobbins.weebly.com/

        Like

      • Thanks for the link. I enjoyed looking at your art. So I guess you use some sort of transfer paper to get the photos onto the fabric? Or do you mean you print them directly onto the fabric? That would be handy.

        Like

      • You can buy packages of printer fabric sheets. They go through the printer. Some are washable and some aren’t. You can also buy chemicals and treat your own fabric and iron freezer paper to the back so it will feed through the printer. I buy the pre-treated sheets, but of course they are a little pricey. I like to use photos in quilts. Sometimes I play around with special effects on the photos. It is fun.

        Like

      • Thanks for all the info. It does sound like fun. πŸ™‚

        Like

  16. I came back to look at this again because it’s just so beautiful. You are an amazing artist.

    Like

  17. This is intricate and beautiful!

    Like

  18. Hi, congratulations for this beatiful art image, i like know what type of the lisence have this image, thanks

    Like

    • Hi Nestor, thank you for your interest. The image is a photograph of an original drawing I did. I would be happy for you to use it for your own personal enjoyment but I do not give permission for anyone to use it commercially. HTH

      Like

Leave a Reply

