DeviantART Debut

This evening I joined DeviantART and uploaded some of my pictures.  Here is a link to my DeviantART homepage.  I found the process somewhat confusing but I seem to have managed to set things up okay.  If you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll probably recognise most of the art.  I’ve put in a few items that you can get printed out as photos, or on mugs or coasters.  It’s only an experiment.  I’ll be uploading more pictures as I get the chance.

Please let me know in the comments below what you think about the whole idea.  Do you think I should keep my blog free of promotional posts?  Is it off-putting?

Posted on April 7, 2014, in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Looks good – you figured it out 🙂 The learning curve with learning new stuff always hurts my brain 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for checking it out. The learning curve is certainly quite painful. I have to say that I wondered what I’d let myself in for when someone gave me a llama badge within a few minutes of joining. I was at a loss as to how to reply except to say thanks! It seems like I’ve joined an interesting community.
      I’m sorry I don’t interact on your blog. It’s that old learning curve again; I’ve figured out how to interact on WordPress but I haven’t taken the trouble to figure out other blogging platforms. I enjoy reading your posts and I wish there was a handy Like button to press.

      Like

      • I am glad you follow my blog. We are all learning together. I have found there are some blogging platforms that I am unable to comment on so I understand what you are talking about.

        Like

      • Thanks for understanding. Next time I have a comment to make on one of your posts I will make more of an effort to figure it out.

        Like

  2. Lovely artwork 🙂 Go with what YOU are happy with, that’s my feeling. You’ve created, why not promote!

    Like

  3. Your page looks very nice:) Great job and lovely work. A link to your work would be welcome and appropriate for sure. People will want to see it. At least that’s what I think.

    Like

  4. AWESOME— WAYS COOL— WAY TO GO GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Great works! I looked at your page on DeviantART, it’s amazing!
    I don’t know if I understand properly that ‘Do you think I should keep my blog free of promotional posts’, but I think promotional posts will be appreciated.
    Sorry, I do not know how I can describe my thought in English.

    Like

    • I’m glad you like it. 🙂
      I dislike commercial advertising on websites and I think other people do too. So I wanted to see if people would be uncomfortable with me advertising my art on my blog.

      Like

  6. I love DeviantART! And I love your pictures. The dolphin one is especially compelling. I love how you compose the tragedy of dolphin killings to raise awareness using your wonderful talent.

    Like

  7. I love that you’re giving people a chance to own a piece of your art. Everyone blogs to promote something: their book, their cause, their organization, their business, themselves… I see no problem with it all. The one thing that will drive me away from a site is those ads that when you happen to accidentally move your mouse over them they take up the whole screen and then you click it off and then it happens again. I’ve left sites and never gone back because of those. But I’m sure how you promote your work will be as tasteful as your art. 😀 Good Luck.

    Like

    • Many thanks Colleen. 😀
      I think adverts pop up at the bottom of my blog posts sometimes because I use WordPress for free. Nobody has complained about them yet so I don’t think they’re too intrusive.

      Like

      • I have those too. Like I said the only ads that really drive me crazy are the ones as you move you mouse to the side to scroll down and you happen to pass over the top of the ad and next thing you know it takes up the whole computer screen. Lately, I’ve been to a few sites (not wordpress) that there are so many ads — I can’t find the actual post. But I think that promoting your own art and your creativity is in an entirely different class than those ads. When I have something to promote — I surely will have something on my sidebar letting people know how to purchase it if they so desire. 😀

        Like

      • Thanks Colleen.
        I was up late last night. I hadn’t really planned to set up the account yesterday it just sort of happened; one thing led to another. I’d toyed with the idea last year but I didn’t get very far.
        I will add something to my sidebar soon. 🙂

        Like

  8. Well done traversing the computer difficulties! It’s a great site to show your work!

    Like

  9. Looking good! Very best of luck with the site.

    Like

  10. Very cool stuff. 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: DeviantART Update | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

