Durrow Drawing

DurrowCarpetI’ve started copying out some of the designs from the library book by Harbison that I mentioned in an earlier post.  The one in the photo is a “carpet” page from the Book of Durrow (click on it if you want to see more detail).  The main reason for copying the picture by hand, rather than photocopying it, is to get to grips with what’s really going on in the design.  This makes it easier when I come to make my own designs.

Posted on March 27, 2014, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. So pretty! You are so talented. 🙂

    Like

  2. Looking forward to the end result:)

    Like

  3. It must take an amazing amount of patience to ‘trace’ all that intricate detail. I look forward to your interpretation of this beautiful artwork. 😀

    Like

    • The thing is I find it immensely satisfying and so it doesn’t feel like I’m being patient. It feels quite indulgent. If someone were to polish off a giant gateau people wouldn’t call them patient for making their way through so much cake. 🙂

      Like

  4. We learn so much by copy/practice. I have done copy of Van Gogh’s with colored pencil.

    Like

    • You’re right. I think people sometimes have a poor opinion of copying because of negative implications like plagiarism or forgery. That’s a shame because, as you say, it is a great way to learn. Some artistic skills are innate but most are learned and must be honed by practice.

      Like

  5. Thank you for following my blog.

    Like

    • You’re welcome. はじめまして。 Thank you for following mine too.
      I am very interested in Japan and Japanese people. I have a Japanese “pen pal” who lives on a small island off Shikoku.
      I look forward to reading your posts.

      Like

  6. I love cultic work but I’ve never seen a carpet with one of their designs. I seriously believe they knew about DNA before the Western world discovered it.

    I don’t appreciate your coming to read my work and enjoyed visiting your site.

    Alexander

    Like

    • 😀 It’s a good job I read your second comment first Alexander!
      The design is called a “carpet page” because it looks likes a carpet. I don’t think they really ever made carpets with those designs on. But who knows…
      Thanks for the visit, I’m glad you enjoyed looking around.

      Like

  7. CORRECTION: I DO APPRECIATE YOU COMING TO READ MY WORK.
    So much for Google dictation!#%*#

    Like

Leave a Reply

