Doodling Addiction

First of all, I’d just like to thank everyone who commented on my last post.  I had a lot of feedback and lots to think about.  Having thought about the whole subject of blogger interaction, I’d just like to say that I don’t mind if you don’t read my posts.  I don’t mind if you don’t like them, I don’t mind if you don’t hit the “Like” button and I don’t mind if you don’t comment.  I want you to be comfortable little blogger bunnies (sorry, I guess I got up too early this morning).  However, if you ever feel like leaving a comment I would be delighted to hear from you.  Thank you for sticking with me this far.  Now onto the topic of this post.

I’m on another binge.  I’ve been seeing quite a few of the newfangled Zentangles on the Internet lately.  It seems that doodling is becoming quite popular.  Nobody warned me that it was addictive.  I didn’t do much research, went off half-cocked and got myself hooked on the first try.  I thought I would use a bit of colour; partly because I’m contrary, and partly because I had some coloured pens that have been sitting in the drawer for years, itching to be used.

Doodle1

Now that I’ve got that colour out of my system, the next one is going to be black and white.  Here’s the work in progress.Doodle2WIP

Without the colour, this process seemed very familiar and I realised that I’d done this kind of thing before.  I’ve always liked to play around with shapes and textures.  Below is a picture of my old guitar that I vandalised in 1989.  I glued on bits of magazine images with interesting patterns and textures.

guitar

It seems to me that the “zen” in “Zentangles” is not coincidental.  I haven’t read their blurb but I can guess that they’re referring to the meditative aspect of doodling.  I’ve found that meditative awareness takes two main forms: spacious awareness and concentrated awareness.  Doodling fits into the latter category.  You’re not idly daydreaming, you’re focusing very closely on the task in hand, to the exclusion of everything else.  Sorry kids.  😉

Posted on March 10, 2014, in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Great pieces — especially the stuff with color; conformist or not, I love color! Oh, and I’m off to read about Zentangles 😛

    Like

  2. How detailed(?) and beautiful drawing you made! I’m utterly overwhelmed! It’s like Ukiyoe, you are a very great artist. How can I describe my feeling! Amazing!

    Like

  3. Wonderful, the addiction is certainly a good one!

    Like

  4. nice!
    my guitar asked
    that i don’t get
    any ideas 🙂

    Like

  5. I love it. I had to keep going back to look again because each time I saw something I missed the time before. I read a study sometime ago — that doodlers are very intelligent people. 😀 I took a break form vacuuming to check out your blog — if I get any more Zen I won’t want to finish my housework either. 😀

    Like

    • Doodlers are intelligent? LOL. 😀
      Btw, the theme that I had loosely in mind when I did the first doodle was impermanence and the way that nature reclaims all man-made things sooner or later.

      Like

  6. These are wonderful!! I’m catching the addiction too! I’m afraid I’ll never get anything done!!

    Like

    • Thank you. Don’t forget to eat/sleep/etc! Yesterday I kept thinking “I’ll just add this last little bit in case I forget it later” and then another half hour would be gone. 😀

      Like

  7. Oh my gosh! Your doodles look like gorgeous finished pieces. Mine lack any sort of focus unless I wake up periodically and decide to “steer” one element or another.

    Like

    • Thanks. Well there are different kinds of doodling I guess. It always used to be like daydreaming but now this zentangle craze has made things a bit more structured. It’s kind of halfway between a traditional doodle and a piece of abstract art.

      Like

  8. Sarah those doodles are beautiful and it reminds me of my husband’s paintings. If you want to look at some paintings of his they are at: wwwchristopherpyett.com
    Keep up the good work. Is that moving eye the one that stops jealousy?

    Like

    • Thanks for the link; they’re stunning. I’d seen some of them already on your blog but I didn’t realise they were your husband’s work.
      The beauty of art is that everyone that looks at it can interpret it in their own way. If you see the eye that stops jealousy then that is what it is! 🙂

      Like

  9. Hmmm. Intrigued by Zentangles. Going to look it up…

    Like

  10. I love how creative you are Sarah! My doodles are coming along but YOURS are truly inspiring! My little zentangle book I purchased at the art store where my son (in art college) works is called YOGA FOR YOUR BRAIN, A Zentangle Workout. As one who at times spends too much time in my head, these doodles are great! Like you wrote: “You’re not idly daydreaming, you’re focusing very closely on the task in hand, to the exclusion of everything else.” Love it! Cheers from a fellow doodle-addict in the making, Gina

    Like

    • Thanks Gina. Glad to hear you’re a fellow doodler.
      I think everybody should give it a try.
      It would give people who aren’t inclined to meditate a chance to get some of the benefits. With the added bonus of making little pieces of art.

      Like

  11. These are absolutely incredible. You’re very gifted.

    Like

  12. You are a seriously good doodler. And that guitar is amazing. You should sell stuff you’ve done artwork on. Maybe eBay.

    Like

    • Thanks. Maybe one day I’ll get round to selling stuff. I’ve always worried that making stuff for sale would take the fun out of it. Plus I always want to keep the things I’ve made. Some issues to work on, I guess. 😉

      Like

  13. You are a prolific doodler! I love the decoupaged guitar too. I have a doodle site too called http://www.brooklyndoodle.com Come by and check it out.

    Like

  14. Old beat up guitars make wonderful wall planters for vines and such.

    Like

  15. Such detailed “doodling”. And love your guitar 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: Another List Of Awesome Bloggers You Definitely Should Check Out | Sparkonit

  2. Pingback: Collecting Patterns | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

