Nanna’s Autograph Book

In my first autograph post I mentioned that my nanna also had an autograph book when she was young.  Well, my dad has now sent me photos of the book so that I can share them here.  There are quite a lot of entries so I’m going to split them over a few posts.  I’m going to start with the silly ones.  These were written in 1928 and 1929 when my nanna was 14 or 15 years old.  The pages are a little worn so the writing can be hard to read in places.  If you click on the first photo you’ll be able to see them all enlarged in a slideshow.  I’ve written out the text in the captions, except for one that I couldn’t entirely decipher.

Posted on February 26, 2014, in Autographs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. “Fall in” quotes is very very brilliant! Genious!

    Like

  2. So charming and wonderful!

    Like

  3. I was going to pick a favorite but I like them all. 😀
    I have really horrible handwriting so it is a gift that I can usually read other tough handwriting — here’s my deciphering of the hard to read one.
    ” It’s a shame to light the Night light on a bright light night like this. For a bright light night is a nice light so why waste the light like this.”
    What do you think?

    Like

    • Yes, I think you’re right. I showed it to Sally earlier and she gave the same reading. She said her mother had terrible handwriting so she was better at deciphering things like that, just like you said about your own handwriting.

      Like

  4. Great Stuff! And funny indeed. Thank you for transcribing them for us.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Another List Of Awesome Bloggers You Definitely Should Check Out | Sparkonit

Leave a Reply

