Valerie’s Autograph

Valerie Hughes was my best friend when I was 10.  We weren’t able to be friends for very long but I never really found a better childhood friend.  I hope by some miracle that she sees this post and remembers me.  Here is what she put in my autograph book:

Valerie

We were both mad about horses.  I still love them, I wonder if she does too.  Valerie’s family was in a circus and they had to move around a lot.  When Valerie left we wrote to each other a lot.  She sent me drawings, handmade puzzles, and all sorts of little gifts.  I can’t remember what I sent her.  I hope I was as nice to her as she was to me.  When Valerie knew me, everybody called me Sally, not Sarah.  They still do when I go back home. Here is a typical letter:

letter

“mister Endresby [sic]” was our teacher in the final year of primary school.  Everybody was scared of him but, with hindsight, he was the best teacher I ever had.  Here is a photo which shows a portrait (near the centre of the photo) that Valerie drew of him:

puzzlesetc

Not very flattering!  His nickname was Bugsby, I can’t remember why.  You can also see some of the puzzles and games that she made for me.  I love the fact that she knew me so well that she created puzzles that I wanted to do – you can see the coloured pencil marks where I completed them.  Here are some photos of the little numbered circus caravans that she made for me:

circus numbers  circus caravansAnd here is Valerie’s self-portrait of her doing one of her circus tricks:

circuspicShe tried to teach me how to do the tricks but I wasn’t really bendy enough. 🙂

Posted on February 21, 2014, in Autographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. That would be awesome if she found this post and sent you some updated pictures. Do you think she is still with the circus? I think that would be an interesting but sometimes difficult life. I’m glad you see your “mean” teacher in a new light. I have to admit — my least favorite teacher in elementary school is still my least favorite teacher. 😀

    Like

    • It would be amazing if she saw this. I’ve no idea what she might be up to these days.
      I went to see that teacher after I left school. He was retired by then. I wanted to thank him but I was too nervous. 🙂 He got me interested in bird-watching. He took us on a school field trip to a bird reserve once, and I thought it was amazing. I went back there with my mum recently and it was still amazing. 🙂

      Like

      • If he’s still alive (or not) thank him. Teachers live for hearing they made a difference and from my experience rarely here the good stuff!!! 😀

        Like

      • He’s no longer with us I’m afraid. I’m pretty sure he knew that I’d visited because I appreciated him. I was very shy (still quite shy) but I’ve never been hard to read. He was pleased to see me and I’m sure I looked pleased to see him too.

        Like

  2. What a wonderful young artist. Hope you two get in touch.

    Like

  3. What charming memories! I do hope Valerie sees it!

    Like

  4. What an incredible friendship you had. I hope Valerie will see your post and be reconnected with you. These are all keepers.

    Like

  5. I like how you actually kept all these treasures. I had a pen pal I never met in person from 3rd grade until we lost contact due to my frequent moves in college. I still have all her letters and photos in storage after all these years. Some of us are just more nostalgic I suppose.

    Happy hunting! I was able to find a girl I mentored (now an adult) via a connection I found online. You never know in the digital age. 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh, Sarah this is lovely and wonderful. Perfect for friendship month over at A4P. I will certainly post it when the time comes…You were the very first submission for August. 🙂 Melanie

    Like

  7. Precious! Good to have memories like that. It would seem that Valerie did not contact You. Let Us hope she is doing well. Love and Regards.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Valerie’s Autograph | Artists4Peace

  2. Pingback: Tripping Down Memory Lane | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

