Dad’s Autograph

Dad reads this blog so I’d better not say too much. 😉

DadsWords

String is a very important thing

Rope is thicker

But string is quicker

This is a poem by Spike Milligan.  Dad is a Spike Milligan fan.  Actually, I’m a bit of a fan too.  Spike wrote the first book that ever transported me to another world – “Badjelly the Witch“.  I remember reading it while my dad drove us somewhere in the car.  I was so engrossed in the book that I forgot we were in the car, and when I looked up I got a terrible shock from the mental dislocation.  It was amazing!

Here is my favourite Milligan poem:

There are holes in the sky
Where the rain gets in
But they’re ever so small
That’s why the rain is thin.

By the way, Spike’s own epitaph is written on his headstone in Gaelic.  It translates to “I told you I was ill.”

Posted on February 19, 2014, in Autographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The epitaph made me laugh. 😀

    Like

  2. I heard someone mention Spike Milligan one time in a British comedy, but I didn’t know who he was. I’ll look him up.

    Like

    • I put a link in there to the Wikipedia article. Might be a good place to start. And I bet there are loads of videos of him on YouTube, etc. I hope you have fun getting to know him. 🙂

      Like

  3. ON MY Dad’s headstone– it says: “thanks for stopping by!”

    Like

  4. What a lovely poem! I’m impressed with your amazing projects Sarah!
    Thank you for visiting so many of my posts yesterday. I couldn’t get the internet, so am responding today. A big thank you! Barbara

    Like

    • Thank you Barbara and you’re very welcome. I’m enjoying your blog and looking forward to reading more in the future. I enjoyed the Angel story very much but I didn’t have time to leave a comment. I will try to leave more comments in the future. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

