Nanna Waddy’s Autograph

This one’s for you Sonda.  Not because I think you need the advice but because it’s written in CAPITALS!

Nanna Waddy was my mother’s mother.  We didn’t see her as often as my other nanna because she didn’t live locally.  She passed away when I was in my late teens.  Her husband passed away when I was very little and I have no memories of him, only photos.  Here is what nanna wrote in my autograph book when I was eight:

nannaWwords

BOYS FLYING KITES HAUL IN THEIR WHITE WINGED BIRDS

YOU CAN’T DO THAT WHEN YOU’RE FLYING WORDS

THOUGHTS UNEXPRESSED MAY SOMETIMES FALL BACK DEAD

BUT GOD HIMSELF CAN’T KILL THEM ONCE THEY’RE SAID

Nanna Waddy was a formidable lady.  She was a ward sister (nurse) and she ran a tight ship, or so I heard.  She liked everything neat and tidy, and that included her grandchildren.  I remember her giving me a bath in the kitchen sink.  Thankfully I was not old enough to be embarrassed about the scene I was making in the kitchen window.

Nanna Waddy’s love for us came in the form of countless knitted jumpers which came with a hand-written note saying “Love in every stitch.”  I am ashamed to say that I didn’t entirely appreciate those jumpers, particularly the bottle green ones that were part of my school uniform.  I think plenty of adult crafters know the feeling of their wares being under-appreciated.  I certainly do now.

I think of nanna every time I make a bed using “hospital corners” on the sheet.  I think it was my dad who taught me how (he’s a nurse too) but it’s my nanna’s critical eye I feel over my shoulder. 🙂

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Autographs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I was linking to your blog when I found your post for the day. Wow!!! Does it fit with the experiences I just wrote about. I have chills from reading this quote. Thank you for sharing it. It means more to me than I think I can express in words. 😀

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    I AM HONORED!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!! BLESSINGS!!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I AM HONORED!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!! BLESSINGS!!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Great memories thanks for sharing.
    How are you? And incidentally how is the weather there. 🙂

    Like

  5. My wise old grandmother also ran a tight ship. I suspect many of our elders did the same, back when the world wasn’t so complicated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

