Autographs of the Not Famous

Thanks to my blogging friend Colleen I have come up with an idea for a series of blog posts.  When I was 8 years old somebody gave me an autograph book as an unbirthday present.  It had an orange cover and pink pages.  As it was somebody’s birthday (not mine – hence the unbirthday present) there were quite a few family gathered for the occasion.  So I did what any 8-year-old would do with an autograph book – I went round my fabulous family and got them to sign it.  But they didn’t just sign it, they wrote little inspirational quotes in there, much to my delight.  Many years later, when the book lay forgotten in a keepsake box, my mother’s sister gave me a lovely little notebook, photo below.

notebook

It’s less than 3 inches square but it was too pretty to use for shopping lists and the like.  I decided to get my inspirational friend Beth to write some of her favourite quotes in it.  She almost filled the book with them!  A couple of other friends added a few more and I added some of my own (see below).  Then a few months ago I found my old autograph book.  There weren’t that many pages filled out so I detached them and sewed them into my sequined book.  Unfortunately, the pink pages needed to be folded in half to fit but I’m glad these precious words are all together in one place now.

Maxwell quote

My nanna passed away last year at the grand old age of 99 and three quarters.  While I was helping my father sort through her belongings I found a wonderful little book, about the same size as mine, stuffed full of quotes from her friends in the 1920s and 1930s.  It was wonderful to feel the love and affection pouring off the pages.  My nan’s favourite saying – “Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” – was taught to her by my grandad.  However, the quote she wrote in my Autograph book was “If there isn’t a bright side, polish the dull one.”

nannasautograph

Her handwriting reminds me of the many letters we used to exchange when I was a young adult trying to make my way in the big, bad world.  We had a wonderful friendship and I will miss her very much.  Anyway, I would like to do a series of posts to share the contents of my little book and a few memories.  Nanna would approve, I think.

[Update 26/02/14]

Here is a photo that my dad sent me of one of the pages of my nanna’s autograph album:

repeat2

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Autographs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I love the quote — and the cover of that book. The idea of people putting in their own inspirational quotes is a great one!.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the link. To inspire or to be in spirit is the best place to be. I can’t wait to see the rest of the posts. I know you’ll have lots of great visuals to go along with them for me. 😀 Enjoy your blooming flowers — I’m off to shovel again.

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this. Such a good idea with the quotes AND such a kindred spirit you and your grandma had – have. 😀

    Like

  4. sorry to hear about your naanaa

    Like

  5. Wise gran! Yep, make sure you have sunshine in your life even if you have to create it 😀

    Like

  6. Sorry to hear about the loss of your Nanna , to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord. CORINTHIANS 5-8 I wish my grandmother could have lived to be 99 years old. I like the way you took her characteristics you cherish the most and how you pass them on for the benefit of others in making that little book you’re now sharing with everyone today, and in reading her lovely words lesson your pain. She will always be a part of you, mind and spirit. Thanks for sharing.
    Incidentally your Nana’s favorite quote, the serenity prayer is also one of my husband’s favorites. 🙂

    Like

  7. What a cherished keepsake! A a great idea for posting. I look forward to hearing them…

    Like

  8. This post is also a good one.. 🙂

    Like

  9. How lovely to find that your nanna had a similar book. It must have made you feel closer to her.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Nanna’s Autograph Book | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

