Book of Kells Font

A few days ago I started getting back into using Manga Studio.  I found that I had forgotten how to use it properly.  It was very frustrating but I’m starting to get the hang of it again now.  My first job was to update my “Award Free Blog” image (see right).  Manga Studio comes with some wonderful “Materials” and I just loved the clouds [I’ve updated the image since I wrote this; the current one has trees, which are also standard material in Manga Studio].  All I had to do was add some colour and some lettering.  Which leads me onto the topic of this post…

I’ve had a request to do a series of images for a family member, but, as a bonus, it might be something that would be of interest to other people.  Anyway, the request is a tall order so I’ve said I will try but I’ve made no promises.  I’m not brave enough to tell you what the series is until I’ve seen whether it’s even feasible for me.  However, I can tell you that I will be trying to use Celtic interlace and “Book of Kells” style illustration and lettering.  So here is an idea of what I have so far.

Book of Kells Font2

It might not look like much but it represents hours of work.  It’s a scalable set of letters traced from Book of Kells images.  It still needs some work because some of the letters will be hard for a modern person to read easily.  For example, the word on the third line actually says “vester”.  And I don’t know what the monk was thinking when he designed the “f” (top right).  There’s something a bit naughty going on there (tell me it’s not just me, please)!

Ave Maria

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Wow! How creative you are, can I get a copy, 🙂 this is cool…

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Current Community! and commented:
    Awesome!

    Like

  3. I see what you mean. Difficult to read. vested could be uefcer or uefter but the v looks like a u and the f doesn’t look anything like an s. It’s so very beautiful but definitely difficult to read and the f is naughty indeed:) Still, beautiful.

    Like

  4. I was going to make a naughty comment about the naughty F but don’t know what your blog is rated. 😀 Good luck. Can’t wait to see what else you create.

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen.
      I’d like my blog to be child-friendly so I suppose I shouldn’t have mentioned it in the first place. 🙂 I’ll just have to hope that one goes over their heads.
      I think this project is going to take some time so I’ll have to think what to fill the gap with.

      Like

  5. Really beautiful. This is something I could never attempt-your attention to detail is flawless, yet there is room for expression.

    Like

  6. I need to have an Award Free Blog image, but don’t know where to get one or how to “create” one. Help? Does WordPress have a place to grab such images or does one just “borrow” from other sites?

    Like

  7. I am enjoying pulling up my blog and seeing The Award Free Blog image of your creation there. Thank you again for the u see of it. I am reminded ded of your generous and kind spirit when I see it.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Border Control | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

