Introduction to Origami

Maryam Jamil of entertainmentstarters asked me how I made the models in a couple of my posts – this one and this one – so I thought I should write an introductory post.

Up until last year I only really did traditional origami.  This involves folding a single sheet of (usually square) paper into a complex shape.  Origami purists would say that proper origami should not involve tearing, cutting or gluing.  Below is a picture of one of my favourite models.  It’s hard to believe that this 6-pointed, 3-dimensional object is folded from a single square sheet of paper, isn’t it?

washi Jackstone

Then last year I had a go at modular (or 3D) origami.  It took me a little while to warm to the idea but as you can tell from this blog I’ve developed a passion for it.  I can’t claim to be an expert on the subject but I’ll tell you what I have learned about it so far.  Modular origami involves the use of relatively simple modules that are combined to produce more complex models.  A lot of models just use one kind of module; like the Sonobe module which I mentioned in my last post, or the triangular unit used in “Golden Venture” models like my swan.  Other models may use two (or more, I guess) different kinds of modules, like the one in the picture below which uses a pyramidal unit to join the flowery units together.

lillyball2

And that’s where I’m going to leave you folks because there is a colossal amount of information on the Internet for people interested in origami.  Just type “origami seahorse” or “origami teapot” into your favourite search engine and you’ll see what I mean.  (Who wants a paper teapot?!?)  On YouTube alone you can find videos to teach you how to fold almost anything.  I also provide links to some origami resources (like Mukerji’s website) in my other origami posts.  Let me know how you get on…

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Origami and Papercraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. thanks for links and info.

    Like

  2. Nice – a great pastime I think 😀

    Like

  3. thank you so much sarah for writing this post
    i dont know any thing about origami till i read it in your blog
    i will definetly try them and let you know 🙂

    Like

  4. You do this so very well, I’m hopeless, so I enjoy your attention to detail even more:)

    Like

    • Well, I’m hopeless at the kind of beautiful, expressive art that you do and I enjoy and appreciate your blog because of that. Thank you for your constant kindness.

      Like

  5. You never cease to amaze me, Sarah.

    Like

  6. Quite a beautiful creations you get to fashion here Sarah… It must take so much patience 🙂

    Like

  7. Very nice and unique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

