Out With The Old, In With The New

Between Christmas and New Year I had a bit of clear-out.  I got rid of a lot of old clothes.  Amongst them was an old Aran jumper that I had knitted with cotton yarn.  It had become shapeless, bobbled and the cuffs were frayed.  I had put a lot of work into it though so I couldn’t let it go without documenting it here.  The same goes for an old fancy dress costume that I made using fabric paints on a pillowcase.  I ran out of blue paint towards the end – hence the weird cloudy edges.  I strung little coloured balloons from the bottom so that they hung round my knees.  They didn’t last long!  [I didn’t know whether I could get in trouble for posting the full picture so I’ve blobbed out some of it.  Can anybody tell me if it’s okay to display the full version?]

cottonaran MMsblobSo that’s the old.  Gone, but not forgotten. 😉

What about the new?  Well, Santa brought me a new origami book.  😀  It’s another book by Mukerji called “Ornamental Origami”.  I asked for it mainly for the “intersecting plane” models but I’ve been having a go at some of the other models in the book first.  I started with a patterned icosahedron but I got bored with it before I’d even got halfway.  I dismantled it and used most of the paper in the next model.

blossomedsonobe sonobewithinsertsOn the left is a “Flowered Sonobe” using 30 sonobe units with blue inserts.  On the right is the same model after “blossoming”.  [See the comments for a video on how to make this model.]

While I was in the middle of making this model I had some idle time with some empty after-dinner mint wrappers.  (Can’t think where they came from. ;))  This is made from 12 standard sonobe units.

mintsonobe

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Origami and Papercraft and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. You are amazing. I can’t believe the things you do with paper. Beautiful.

    Like

  2. How fun. I’ve never had the patience to be a crafty person. I tried scrapbooking once, bought all the doo-dads to do it with — did a few pages and then gave all the stuff to my friend six months later when it all just sat in my closet. I’m glad you share your crafts so that I can live vicariously through your creations. 😀

    Like

    • LOL I’m glad you’re enjoying it. Craft certainly requires a little patience but if you’ve got the crafting bug/gene/addiction you don’t need a huge amount because even the repetitious parts are so much fun. I can’t explain why. 😀
      I’m always buying new crafty things to try out only to have them sitting around gathering dust. But for me that’s because there’s so much to try and not enough time.

      Like

  3. Haven’t seen for ages, sorry!
    It’s amazing indeed!
    Perhaps you could show the full of picture, I think.
    The picture is great, I hardly believe it!

    And oh I am sorry for hearing that you got rid of the jumper.
    If you do not mind, I would like to wear it…
    It still looks handsome!
    I did not know you are such a brilliant knitter!

    I hope you have a peaceful and wonderful week.

    Like

    • I’m sorry I got rid of the jumper. 😦 It was so shabby I didn’t think it would be of any use to anyone. Most of my old stuff goes to the charity shop but I didn’t think they’d want the jumper. No-one here would want to buy it. If I see something similar and it’s not too expensive I will get it for you.

      Like

      • Sorry for worry you. Please don’t worry about it.
        I just thought that I would like to see your hand crafted knitting, and it seemed to be great to wear your jumper.
        So there is no need to buy one, and if you would find another shabby jumper, please keep it for me. m(_ _)m <- have you seen this face mark?
        I hope you have a fantastic winter!

        Like

      • I will. I have seen that face mark – I love Japanese emoticons. I hope you have a fantastic winter too. I’m having a nice cup of green tea with my breakfast.
        ( ^^) _U~~
        Stay warm.

        Like

  4. how they are made
    i want to made them sarah

    Like

  5. You are so talented… I played with oragami once…but gave up rather quickly, i think my fingers are too fat 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: Introduction to Origami | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

