Cranes and Flower Fanfare

I’ve just made a pile of cranes out of the little square pieces of washi paper that my Japanese penpal sent me.  They are so pretty I think I might die from cuteness overload.  The photo doesn’t do them justice.  If you click on the picture you’ll be able to see them better.  (The pen is there for size reference.)

cranes

I also added some 5-petalled lilies to the lily model.  I’m calling it “Spring Herald”; the colour reminds me of snowdrops.

springherald

Posted on December 14, 2013, in Origami and Papercraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Love them, so pretty.

    Like

  2. A sweet mobile of beautiful tiny cranes. That would be lovely. They are beautiful and I’m always amazed by what you do.

    Like

  3. My friend made a mobile out of origami fish for my daughter’s birth, and it’s hanging over our stairs. A crane mobile would be even prettier. Or they would make beautiful tree ornaments. My son’s school was making them to get to 1,000 for the peace project, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thousand_origami_cranes

    Like

  4. Amazing! You are an Origami master! How small and lovely the cranes are!
    Thank you! I am delighted to see them!

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on Anglo Saxon Celt Creates and commented:

    My blog is a little quiet at the moment so I thought I’d reblog an old post with a bit of an update here. I took the cranes and some other origami and art to a local primary school shortly after I wrote the post. I was very surprised that it was the boys who were interested in the cranes. (They’re very pretty so I thought they would attract female admirers.) Anyway I gave the cranes away to the boys and they enjoyed zooming around the room with them!
    The floral fanfare ended up in Japan as a thank-you gift for my penpal’s mother who had knitted me a fabulous two-bobbled hat.

    Like

  6. Absolutely love your ‘Spring Herald’ and a lovely thought to send it to your penpals’ mother too! 🙂

    Like

  7. How wonderful. I wish I knew how to make them. So beautiful and such a sweet and touching post. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  8. wow, those lilies! I am still to make a crane. should be a rite of passage. these look so beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

