Painted Drumhead

My drum circle has disbanded and I’m thinking about getting rid of my drum (not on here so don’t start asking ;)).  It’s a shame for it to gather dust when someone else could be using it.  It’s a machine-made djembe drum.  There was an awful black logo in the middle of the drum skin so I painted spirals over the top of it.  I did them in acrylic paint.  I wasn’t sure how long they would last but they survived repeating bashing very well so I decided to do more painting.

IMG_0771The upper motif is a lioness and is there to protect the drum from damage.  The lower motif is a pair of dogs which represent friendship.  It was supposed to help me share my drum without feeling bad about it.  I was very worried about people damaging the drum skin.  I’m very surprised and pleased about how well the paint has survived years of bashing; repeated stretching and unstretching.

In the next post I will share some photos of the hat I made for my drum.

Posted on November 9, 2013, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Never Heard of this type of drum Sarah. But your art work does look very stunning !

    Like

  2. Very celtic drum, Yes, pass it on ….

    Like

  3. It’s beautiful. I would like to hear you “play”. I only heard a drumming circle once. I was in a shop looking at crystals and a drumming circle was in the other room. I didn’t realize I was moving to the music until I looked up and saw one of the guys smiling at me. I of course became self conscious and stopped dancing — one of my regrets. 🙂

    Like

    • Drum circles are wonderful because the drummers don’t have to be particularly talented to produce a wonderful sound. As long as they can hold a steady rhythm the “music” seems to create itself. Of course, if there are talented drummers (not me ;)) there it sounds even better! I will miss it.

      Like

  4. thanks so much for stopping by and following my blog! so kind of you!
    btw, i love the djembe’! always wanted to learn to play! i like the painting you did on yours too, you’re very creative!
    i can’t wait to browse your blog as well, you seem to be a very interesting person, am looking forward to stopping by when i have more time to read yours!
    thanks again, have a great day! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Sarah
    Your art work is outstanding! I worked for a short time at Bede’s World in Jarrow as an illustrator and got fascinated with Celtic Art,

    Like

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never heard of Bede’s World but if I’m ever in the vicinity I will definitely pay it a visit. I’m glad to hear you like Celtic art. Thanks for stopping by. We seem to have a few overlaps in our interests so I’m looking forward to seeing more from your blog also.

      Like

Leave a Reply

