Flower for Colleen

I have a story about a flower but most of it is too personal to share. What I will say is that there was one day a few years ago that I felt I was being forced to do something major that I wasn’t sure was the right thing for me and my family. On that morning I had an overwhelming urge to go out into my garden. I felt like I couldn’t breathe in the house. I’m a keen gardener so I keep a close eye on what is happening in my garden. On this occasion however I found a single ornamental poppy in the courgette (zucchini) patch that I hadn’t noticed before.  It was beautiful. I wish I had taken a better photo of it.  It banished all my fears about what I was doing that day. It was like the Universe had smiled at me and told me that everything would be alright. I went through the day willingly and with a full heart. The flower fell to pieces the next day; it had done it’s job. Everything did turn out alright.

IMG_0754
And here is a very unflattering picture of myself with the flower.  I wasn’t dressed for the occasion.  🙂  And I wish I had weeded the courgette patch.
IMG_0753 (2)

Posted on October 19, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful person in a beautiful garden. As I read your comment on my post — I wondered — does Sarah have a picture of this poppy? I went to my reader and there was your post with the picture. I also wondered what I was having for dinner in the middle of reading your comment (here it is just before 5 pm) and my parents called to come over for pizza. What an abundant Universe. Thanks for sharing. Colleen 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing a small piece of your personnel life Sarah, its a side we don’t get to see often. It is amazing in this universe how sometimes the smallest of details, or in your case the flower can completely turn things around or at least make things more bearable. The picture that you call unflattering is simply a matter of perspective, I see it as the current you and wish I had a small amount of all that hair 🙂

    Like

  3. That is a great picture! A flower grows in Spanish Harlem… I liked your thoughts about that single flower. Shows depth!

    Like

  4. findingmyinnercourage

    Sharing your personal life is extremely touching! I see your photo as beautiful!

    Like

  5. What a great sign. I’m glad it was able to give you courage.

    Like

  6. Sarah – keep an eye out for poppies. Now that one has been so important to you, they will probably keep cropping up when most needed. See: http://soulgatherings.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/of-ladybugs-and-dragonflies-and-love/

    Like

  1. Pingback: Roses for Sarah and Colleen | Life in the City with a Future

Leave a Reply

