Getting Knotted – It’s a Human Thing

In case you haven’t been following this blog, I like knots.  I crochet and I like to draw Celtic knots.  I have also experimented with the type of knots found in Islamic art.  African - Right Side of a Double-page Illuminated Frontispiece - Walters W5563B - Full PageNow, thanks to a couple of Internet friends, I have found two more styles of knotwork which are very similar to Celtic interlace.  The first – Croatian interlace – evolved on the same continent.Hrvatski pleter  The second – mizuhiki (水引) – evolved in Japan.
Mizuhiki plant
It seems that wherever there are human innovators there are also complex knots.

Posted on October 18, 2013, in Art, Celtic interlace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I never realized how beautiful knots were until I found your blog. How did you get interested in them?

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. That’s a good question. I don’t really know the answer though, they sort of snuck up on me from behind. 😉 I grew up in Wales so Celtic designs have always been there in the background. I did a lot of sketching as a teenager but I didn’t start trying knotwork until later on.

      Like

  2. I love your last line-profound.

    Like

  3. Thank GOD I do not have to do such Complicated things! But I also Thank God that He has created so much Beauty for me to Enjoy! Even the things made by my Friends! Kudos.

    Like

  4. Wow, love the detail of those mizuhiki leaves! 🙂 💜 Jackie@KWH

    Like

  1. Pingback: Getting Knotted #2 | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

